Super League Dream Team named


The wealth of talent that has helped make this season one of the most entertaining of all time is reflected in the 2010 Engage Super League Dream Team.

The 13 players in the team of the year have scored a combined total of over 150 tries, more than a third of which have come courtesy of the four Wigan Warriors players selected in the 2010 Engage Super League Dream Team.

The four Warriors are winger Pat Richards, loose forward Sean O’Loughlin and second row Joel Tomkins, all of whom are making their Engage Super League Dream Team debuts, plus stand-off Sam Tomkins, who was a member of the 2009 Dream Team.

The Tomkins brothers are the first brothers ever to appear in a Super League Dream Team, marking a proud day for the Tomkins family.

Alongside Sam Tomkins, four other players have made their second successive Dream Team appearances after being selected in 2009.

Ryan Hall’s impressive form in 2010 has seen him continue his club partnership at Leeds Rhinos with Keith Senior for a second successive year, whilst Hull KR’s Michael Dobson and Warrington’s Adrian Morley were also selected in 2009.

After making his Dream Team comeback in 2009 after a 10-year absence, Morley has become the first man to appear in Dream Team selections in three separate decades, with previous appearances in the 1990s added to his 2009 selection.

The Warrington captain is joined in the front row by St Helens duo James Graham and James Roby, who are joined by a third Saints player in full-back Paul Wellens.

Morley is one of three Warrington players alongside Ben Westwood, who returns to the Dream Team having made his debut in 2008, and Matt King, the centre who is the fourth player making his first appearance in the Dream Team in 2010.

The Engage Super League Dream Team is chosen by a panel of Rugby League journalists and broadcasters who regularly cover the Engage Super League competition and is based on form throughout the regular season.

2010 ENGAGE SUPER LEAGUE DREAM TEAM – with previous appearances
1 – Paul Wellens (St Helens) – 2005, 2006, 200707
2 – Pat Richards (Wigan) – Debut
3 – Matt King (Warrington) – Debut
4 – Keith Senior (Leeds) – 2002, 2003, 2004, 2009
5 – Ryan Hall (Leeds)  – 2009
6 – Sam Tomkins (Wigan) – 2009
7 – Michael Dobson (Hull KR) – 2009
8 – James Graham (St Helens) – 2008
9 – James Roby (St Helens)  – 2007
10 – Adrian Morley (Warrington) – 1998, 1999. 2009
11 – Ben Westwood (Warrington) – 2008
12 – Joel Tomkins (Wigan) – Debut
13 – Sean O’Loughlin.(Wigan) – Debut