Korbin Sims & Jason Qareqare included in Fiji’s extended World Cup squad

Josh McAllister
Korbin Sims

Retiring Hull KR forward Korbin Sims has been included in Fiji’s extended 33-man squad ahead of this year’s World Cup in autumn. 

Castleford winger Jason Qareqare has also been included.

Head coach Joe Rabele has announced a star-studded squad. It includes Penrith hooker Api Koroisau and Parramatta’s Maika Sivo, Reagan Campbell-Gillard and Waqa Blake.

2023 Huddersfield signing Kevin Naiqama will lead the side alongside back-rower Kikau. The pair are among 17 NRL stars included in the squad.

Despite announcing his retirement from the sport, 30-year-old Sims has also been included.

New South Wales representative Koroisau will be asked to decide his World Cup allegiance, with reports suggesting he could also make Mal Meninga’s Australia 24-man squad. The 29-year-old has played 16 tests for Fiji.

“I know that he has some interest to play for the Kangaroos, but the door is still open for Api Koroisau,” Rabele told media in Fiji.

“Hopefully he will get back to me because we will send invitation letters to all the clubs for all the players that we select (to confirm) if they want to be part of this program, so we are waiting for them to respond.

“We are departing for England on October 25. So, before we depart we need to select our best team that we can for the World Cup.

“At the moment we have to submit this squad to the World Cup. So, when we submit the names we have to work with this squad.”

Fiji will feature in Group B of the men’s tournament alongside Australia, Italy and Scotland.

Fiji 33-man squad

Waqa Blake, Reagan Campbell-Gillard, Maika Sivo (Parramatta Eels), Tui Kamikamica (Melbourne Storm), Vuate Karawalevu, Kevin Naiqama, Siua Wong (Sydney Roosters), Viliame Kikau, Apisai Koroisau (Penrith Panthers), Lamar Manuel Liolevave (Tweed Seagulls), Joe Lovodua (Hull FC), Isaac Lumelume (Canterbury Bulldogs), Netane Masima (Wests Magpies), Laitia Moceidreke, Taniela Sadrugu (NQ Cowboys), Sitiveni Moceidreke (London Broncos), Taane Milne (South Sydney Rabbitohs), Marcelo Montoya (NZ Warriors), Ben Nakubuwai (Leigh Centurions), Jason Qareqare (Castleford), Mikaele Ravalawa (St George Illawarra Dragons), Daniel Saifiti, Jacob Saifiti (Newcastle Knights), Pio Seci (Manly Sea Eagles), Korbin Sims (Hull KR), Tariq Sims (St George Illawarra Dragons), Penioni Tagituimua, Brandon Wakeham (Canterbury Bulldogs), Sunia Turuva (Penrith Panthers), Joseph Vakacereivalu (Redcliffe Dolphins), Semi Valemei (Canberra Raiders), King Vuniyayawa (Salford Reds), Ratu Inoke Vasuturaga (Kinoya Eagles)

PODCASTMatty Russell opens up on overcoming gambling and alcohol demons, & how Toulouse has reacted to Super League relegation

FOLLOW: Keep up with all the latest on the Love Rugby League mobile app and podcast