New Zealand v Tonga: Squads announced for mid-season Pacific test

Drew Darbyshire
New Zealand and Tonga squads PA

Joseph Manu (left) and Daniel Tupou (right) have both been named in the New Zealand and Tonga squads respectively

New Zealand and Tonga have both confirmed star-studded squads packed with NRL talent for this year’s mid-season Pacific test ahead of the World Cup.

Kiwis coach Michael Maguire has named a 25-man wider squad to face their Pacific neighbours at Mt Smart Stadium in Auckland on June 25.

Parramatta Eels half-back Dylan Brown is expected to make his debut for New Zealand after making the cut over Shaun Johnson and Kodi Nikorima.

Brown is one of eight potential debutants in the New Zealand squad, including Ronaldo Mulitalo, who represented the USA at the Nines World Cup in 2019.

The other potential debutants are Moses Leota (Panthers), Scott Sorenson (Panthers), Marata Niukore (Eels), Erin Clark (Titans), Griffin Neame (Cowboys) and Jordan Riki (Broncos).

Meanwhile, New South Wales Origin representatives Daniel Tupou and Kotoni Staggs have been named in the Tonga team. Tonga coach Kristian Woolf has named a 25-man squad, with Tupou and Staggs starting on the wing and at half-back respectively.

Manly forward Haumole Olakau’atu and Cronulla centre Siosifa Talakai, who are also in contention to play for the Blues in Origin II, are also in the Tonga squad.

Under international eligibility rules, players can play for both their state and Tonga.

Tonga will be coached by Dean Young for this mid-season test, with Woolf on Super League duties with champions St Helens.

New Zealand:

Nelson Asofa-Solomona (Storm)

Jesse Bromwich (Storm)

Kenny Bromwich (Storm)

Dylan Brown (Eels)

Erin Clark (Titans)

Fisher-Harris (Panthers)

Kieran Foran (Sea Eagles)

Peta Hiku (Cowboys)

Jahrome Hughes (Storm)

Moses Leota (Panthers)

Isaac Liu (Titans)

Joseph Manu (Roosters)

Te Maire Martin (Broncos)

Ken Maumalo (Tigers)

Ronaldo Mulitalo (Sharks)

Griffin Neame (Cowboys)

Briton Nikora (Sharks)

Marata Niukore (Eels)

Isaiah Papali’i (Eels)

Jordan Rapana (Raiders)

Jordan Riki (Broncos)

Brandon Smith (Storm)

Scott Sorensen (Panthers)

Joseph Tapine (Raiders)

Dallin Watene-Zelezniak (Warriors)


Tolotau Koula (Sea Eagles)

Daniel Tupou (Roosters)

Siosifa Talakai (Sharks)

Moses Suli (Dragons)

Sione Katoa (Sharks)

Kotoni Staggs (Broncos)

Talatau Amone (Dragons)

Siosiua Taukeiaho (Roosters)

Siliva Havili (Rabbitohs)

Addin Fonua-Blake (Warriors)

Sitili Tupouniua (Roosters)

Keaon Koloamatangi (Rabbitohs)

Jason Taumalolo (Cowboys)

Soni Luke (Panthers)

Haumole Olakau’atu (Sea Eagles)

Tevita Pangai Jnr (Bulldogs)

Tevita Tatola (Rabbitohs)

Moeaki Fotuaika (Titans)

Will Penisini (Eels)

Isaiya Katoa (Panthers)

Andrew Fifita (Sharks)

Joe Ofahengaue (Tigers)

Starford To’a (Tigers)

Christian Tuipulotu (Sea Eagles)

Eliesa Katoa (Warriors)

LOVE RUGBY LEAGUE: All the latest news, Podcast, App & Fantasy RL