How Newcastle Thunder are shaping up for 2023

Josh McAllister
Newcastle Thunder 2023

Newcastle Thunder head coach Chris Thorman has made 10 signings so far ahead of his first season in charge of the club in the 2023 Championship campaign. 

The side have returned to a part-time model for the 2023 season, having finished last season in 12th spot, just a place above the relegation zone.

Thorman, 42, was appointed the club’s head coach earlier in September, and has since brought along Alex Clegg, Rhys Clarke and Jake Lightowler from Workington Town for next season in the second division. 

Newcastle have confirmed a total of 14 player departures ahead of the 2023 campaign, including half-backs Josh Woods and Jake Shorrocks.

Full-back Craig Mullen has also left the club, despite having signed a new one-year deal earlier in October. Pat Moran, Dan Coates, Brad Day, Jesse Dee, Josh Eaves, Isaac Nokes, Lewis Peachey, Oliver Roberts, Ellis Robson, Ukuma Ta’ai and Nathan Wilde have also all left the side.

Hull FC youngster Marcus Walker became their latest and 10th signing last week, making the switch on a one-year deal. The 20-year-old made one appearance for the Super League outfit, and spent time on loan at Whitehaven in 2022.

The club have added a handful of World Cup representatives following the tournament’s end, including Wales’ Curtis Davies, Greek’s Robert Tuliatu and Jamaica’s Alex Young.

Impressive playmaker Nikau Williams joins the club from Whitehaven on a one-year deal. He made more than 50 appearances for the Cumbrian side since his debut in 2021. The 22-year-old started every game in 2022, scoring nine tries and kicking 47 goals. 

Forwards pair Daniel Okoro and Connor Moore have also signed on season-long loans from Hull KR.

The likes of Alex Foster, Jack Johnson, Jay Chapelhow, Ted Chapelhow and Mitch Clark have all re-signed ahead of the 2023 season.

Newcastle Thunder 2023 squad so far

Backs: Marcus Walker, Alex Young, Alex Donaghy, Gideon Boafo, Jack Johnson, Connor Bailey, Alex Clegg, Nikau Williams.

Forwards: Curtis Davies, Robert Tuliatu, Nathan Clemmitt, Alex Foster, Daniel Okoro (loan), Connor Moore (loan), Jake Anderson, Mitch Clark, Jay Chapelhow, Ted Chapelhow, Brad Gallagher, Jake Lightowler, Rhyse Clarke.

More Championship content

List of 2023 rugby league pre-season friendlies

How Bradford Bulls are shaping up for 2023

Warrington youngster Riley Dean makes Championship move

FOLLOW: Keep up with all the latest on the Love Rugby League mobile app and podcast