Golden Boot nominees for 2018 revealed

Drew Darbyshire

An Australia trio and a Tonga duo are contenders for the 2018 RLIF men’s Golden Boot award.

Kangaroos stars Boyd Cordner, James Tedesco and Valentine Holmes and Mate Ma’a pair Jason Taumalolo and Siosiua Taukeiaho are in contention for the prestigious award.

Jillaroos trio Brittany Breayley, Ali Brigginshaw and Isabelle Kelly are up against Kiwi Ferns star Honey Hireme for the 2018 RLIF women’s Golden Boot award.

The nominations were determined by a panel of experts drawn from the rugby league media across the world and further names will be added after this weekend.

The RLIF Golden Boot recognises the most outstanding performances in full international matches throughout the year.

The selection panel includes Brad Walter, Joanna Lester, Martyn Sadler, Steve Mascord and Dave Woods.

On November 4, the panel will decide on the final shortlist of four players for each award.

The announcement of the winner will be made at a celebration dinner at Elland Road, Leeds, on November 7.

In addition to the 2018 Golden Boots, the RLIF will also be honouring the players throughout the history of the sport who have made over 50 international appearances.