Australia forward Angus Crichton will challenge his two-match penalty notice following their 30-10 win over Samoa in the World Cup final.
The Kangaroos back-rower was sin-binned five minutes into the second half for striking Samoa hooker Chanel Harris-Tavita with a forearm.
As a result, Crichton, who plays for Sydney Roosters in the NRL, has received a two-match penalty notice by the Rugby League World Cup’s match review panel.
Due to travel arrangements, the challenge will be heard later this week.
Samoa coach believes Angus Crichton should have been sent off
Samoa boss Matt Parish criticised referee Ashley Klein’s decision not to send off Crichton. However, he acknowledged that it didn’t play a part in the outcome of the match.
“We were probably never close enough to pressure them,” Parish said. “But there was clearly a 40-20 in the first five minutes. And five minutes into the second half (Chanel Harris-Tavita) gets an elbow to the head and the referee makes a weak decision.
“The result is disappointing but certainly not the effort or commitment of these guys. I couldn’t be prouder or happier with the group.”
Samoa captain Junior Paulo paid tribute to the impact his side have made on Samoans around the world in this tournament.
He said: “We spoke during the week about giving ourselves every chance; and that whatever happened we were always going to be able to hold our heads up and be proud. That’s all I wanted from this bunch of men.
“The one thing that will stick with us is in history these names are always going to be beside each other. We will be able to look back when we’re done and be proud.”
Elsewhere, New Zealand’s Georgia Hale received a caution for a hair pull in their 54-4 defeat to Australia in the Women’s World Cup final.