Tottenham Hotspur Stadium to host Challenge Cup first and second round draws

Drew Darbyshire
Tottenham Hotspur Stadium will host Challenge Cup final

The draws for the first and second rounds of the 2022 Challenge Cup will be made at the Tottenham Hotspur Stadium on Tuesday, December 14.

Community clubs will return to the first round of the Cup next January after their Covid-enforced absence in 2021. In addition, they will be joined by the semi-professionals in League 1 in round two a fortnight later.

The double draw will be streamed live on the BBC Red Button. Additionally, it will be on the Rugby Football League’s Our League channel from 5:30pm.

Moreover, it has been agreed that Cornwall, the new team in League 1, will not enter the Cup in their debut season. Futhermore, Super League newcomers Toulouse have also opted not to enter.

EXPANSION: Third time lucky? Eric Perez on Toronto, Ottawa and now Cornwall

The 14 first round ties will be played on the weekend of January 15-16, and the 12 second round ties on the weekend of January 29-30.

The third round will occur on February 12-13, producing six winners to join the 14 Championship clubs in the fourth round on February 26-27.

The fifth round will take place on March 12-13. Following this, the winners will join the Super League teams in the sixth round on March 26-27.

The winners from round five will also qualify for the 1895 Cup, with a play-off on the Challenge Cup quarter-final weekend of April 9-10. Meanwhile, the semi-finals of the Challenge Cup and 1895 Cup will be played on the weekend of May 7-8.

FAVOURITES: St Helens the bookmakers favourites to retain Challenge Cup

Challenge Cup details

Teams in the first round

Army, Bentley, Bridgend Blue Bulls, Edinburgh Eagles, Ellenborough Rangers, Featherstone Lions, Galway Tribesmen, Great Britain PoliceHunslet Club Parkside, Jarrow Vikings, Leigh Miners Rangers, Lock Lane, London Chargers, Milford, Navy, Orrell St James, Pilkington Recs, RAF, Rochdale Mayfield, Siddal, Stanningley, Thatto Heath Crusaders, Thornhill Trojans, Upton, West Hull, Wests Warriors, Wigan St Patricks, York Acorn.

Teams in the second round (plus round one winners)

Doncaster, Hunslet, Keighley Cougars, London Skolars, Midlands Hurricanes, North Wales Crusaders, Oldham, Rochdale Hornets, Swinton Lions, West Wales Raiders.

Follow Love Rugby League on Instagram

Challenge Cup dates

First Round (14 ties) – January 15-16 

Second Round (12 ties) – January 29-30 – League 1 clubs enter 

Third Round (6 ties) – February 12-13 

Fourth Round (10 ties) – February 26-27 – Championship clubs enter 

Fifth Round (5 ties) – March 12-13 

Sixth Round (8 ties) – March 26-27 – Super League clubs enter 

Quarter Finals – April 9-10 

Semi Finals – May 7-8 

Challenge Cup Final 2022 – Saturday, May 28 at Tottenham Hotspur Stadium

READ MORE: The greatest Grand Final performance of all time? Rob Burrow for Leeds in 2011