Super League stars try out poker

Sixty-five of the top Super League stars will swap the green sward for the green baize next week when they exchange the grass of Murrayfield for poker tables in Leeds.

All of them will return from the ‘Magic’ weekend in Edinburgh – where the fourteen top flight sides play a round of matches over the Bank Holiday weekend – and change their jerseys for suits when they take part in the inaugural ‘Super League Poker Challenge’ at Gala Casino in Leeds.

Almost all of the sides will be represented by some of the top names in the sport who will be playing for a specially designed trophy and a top prize of £4,000.

The eagerly awaited challenge to determine who has the best hands in rugby league will take place over seven hours next Tuesday, 5th May, with the ultimate card shark due to be crowned around midnight.

Fans wanting to see a piece of the action will be able to catch up with the contest on BBC’s ‘Super League Show’ who are sending a camera down with presenter Robbie Paul, who will be one of the participants.

The Challenge will take place under ‘Texas Hold ‘Em’ rules and such has been the interest that it is hoped to make this an annual event.

England skipper Jamie Peacock, who has helped bring the participants together, is believed to be one of the favourites for the title. Those pledged to take part include:

SALFORD – Paul White, Robbie Paul, Ray Cashmere, Rob Parker, Jordan Turner, Willie Talau

WAKEFIELD – Brad Drew, Kevin Henderson, Danny Brough, Jason Demetriou, Ryan Atkins, Tevita Leo-Latu

HARLEQUINS – Rob Purdham, Danny Ward, Louie McCarthy-Scarsbrook, Gareth Haggerty

ST HELENS – Leon Pryce, Lee Gilmour, Sean Long, Ade Gardner, Francis Meli

HUDDERSFIELD – Jamahl Lolesi, Stephen Wild, Simon Finnigan, David Faiumu, Kevin Brown

WARRINGTON – Richie Mathers, Adrian Morley, Chris Hicks, Matt King, Michael Monaghan, Lee Briers, Paul Rauhihi, Vinnie Anderson, Chris Bridge, Ben Harrison

CASTLEFORD – Rangi Chase, Mitchell Sargent, Liam Higgins, Kirk Dixon, Brent Sherwin, Sione Faumuina, Craig Huby

BRADFORD – Nick Scruton, Sam Burgess, Rikki Sheriffe, Chris Nero, Paul Sykes, Steve Menzies, Glenn Morrison

WIGAN – Stuart Fielden

HULL – Paul King, Richard Horne, Shaun Berrigan, Tommy Lee, Craig Hall, Graeme Horne, Chris Thorman

LEEDS – Jamie Peacock, Brent Webb, Lee Smith, Danny McGuire, Rob Burrow, Luke Burgess, Ryan Hall

Be the first to comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.