Sam Burgess included in “NRL Team of the Decade”

Drew Darbyshire

England star Sam Burgess has been included in the “NRL Team of the Decade” by a panel of experts.

Great Britain and England international Burgess has played 178 games for South Sydney Rabbitohs, scoring 44 tries.

On the panel were: Mal Meninga, Andrew Johns, Wally Lewis, Bob Fulton, Phil Gould, Craig Bellamy, Trent Robinson, Ricky Stuart, Peter Sterling, Darren Lockyer, Danny Buderus, Trent Barrett, Ryan Girdler, Mark Graham, Ben Ikin, Brett Kimmorley, Steve Renouf, Jamie Soward, Gorden Tallis, Geoff Toovey, Kevin Walters, Craig Wing and Laurie Daley.

The NRL Team of the Decade:

Full-back: Billy Slater

Wing: Jarryd Hayne

Centre: Justin Hodges

Centre: Greg Inglis

Wing: Brett Morris

Stand-off: Johnathan Thurston

Scrum-half: Cooper Cronk

Prop: Matt Scott

Hooker: Cameron Smith

Prop: Jesse Bromwich

Back-row: Sam Burgess

Back-row: Boyd Cordner

Loose forward: Jason Taumalolo

Watch NRL and live stream every NRL game to keep up with how the Burgess boys, John Bateman, Ryan Sutton, Elliott Whitehead, James Graham and all the others are getting on Down Under.

More on site

Off the Record: Rugby League Rumours and Gossip #177

NRL Preview: Fifita named on bench, Sutton replaces Tapine & Reynolds recalled

Batley ace Archie Bruce died of asphyxiation

Referee Robert Hicks speaks out against online trolls

Krisnan Inu signs new deal with Salford