Rochdale Hornets confirm 13 departures

Drew Darbyshire
Shaun Ainscough

Photo courtesy of Jackie Meredith and Rochdale Hornets.

Rochdale Hornets have announced that 13 players have left the League 1 club.

Former Wigan and Bradford winger Shaun Ainscough leaves the club after three seasons.

Half-back Rob Fairclough, who arrived from Swinton ahead of last year, suffered a long-term ACL injury early on in the season and is awaiting surgery.

Rochdale’s current longest-serving player Ben Moores has not re-signed for 2022 due to family and work commitments. The experienced hooker has been with the club since 2016.

Jordan Syme and Josh Jordan-Roberts have both joined fellow League 1 side Hunslet.

Ireland international Jack Higginson, who came through the ranks at Wigan, has also departed the club. Former Widnes full-back Sam Freeman leaves the Hornets.

RETENTION: Rochdale keep experienced Fuifui Moimoi

Rochdale Hornets full released list:

Shaun Ainscough

Rob Fairclough

Jordan Syme (Hunslet)

Josh Jordan-Roberts (Hunslet)

Jack Higginson

Callum Ogden

Sam Freeman

Declan Sheridan

Danny Yates

Adam Hesketh

Ben Moores

Lee Registe

Shaun Robinson

Follow Love Rugby League on Instagram

On the departures, Rochdale coach Matt Calland said: “It’s part of sport, as each season players move on or are forced to retire through injury.

“We have lost two great players to Hunslet, who are both great kids and I wish them well.

“Last season we lost Callum Ogden, Jack Higginson, Sam Freeman and Rob Fairclough all to career-threatening injuries. They are all great players and have represented the club to the best of their abilities and were a pleasure to coach.

“I’d like to thank all departing players and wish them well for the future.

“Our attention now turns to preparations for the exciting 2022 League 1 campaign, with the recent positive news of the re-signings of captain Sean Penkywicz, Rangi Chase and Fuifui Moimoi, while also adding experienced players such as Gregg McNally.

“We have also added very talented, young, hungry players such as Connor Aspey, Fin Stewart, Joe Howe and Ben Killan to our squad. We look forward to 2022 and returning to the Crown Oil Arena.”

READ MORE: League 1 ins and outs for 2022: Signings club-by-club