Queensland pick two new faces for Origin


Queensland have selected debutants Corey Oates and Justin O’Neill in their 17-man team for Game I of the 2016 State of Origin series.

Broncos flyer Corey Oates will become the 183rd player to represent Queensland at Origin level and Cowboys cenre Justin O’Neill the 184th when the Maroons take the field at ANZ Stadium on June 1.

With Billy Slater and Will Chambers injured, and Justin Hodges retired, Darius Boyd moves to fullback and Oates takes Boyd’s centre spot.

O’Neill comes in for Hodges to partner Greg Inglis in the centres.

Queensland squad:

1.      Darius Boyd
2.      Corey Oates
3.      Greg Inglis
4.      Justin O’Neill
5.      Dane Gagai
6.      Johnathan Thurston
7.      Cooper Cronk
8.      Matt Scott
9.      Cameron Smith (c)
10.  Nate Myles
11.  Matt Gillett
12.  Sam Thaiday
13.  Corey Parker
14.  Michael Morgan
15.  Josh McGuire
16.  Aidan Guerra
17.  Josh Papalii