Newcastle Thunder 2023 squad numbers under new coach Chris Thorman

James Gordon
Championship 2023 squad numbers

Newcastle Thunder have revealed a much-changed squad ahead of the 2023 Betfred Championship season, under new coach Chris Thorman.

Thunder made the decision to revert back to part-time status which has led to a player exodus, meaning only three players from last season have retained their shirt number.

Only Mitch Clark (10), Alex Foster (11) and Ted Chapelhow (15) will wear the same as in 2022.

Former Warrington and Widnes speedster Jack Johnson has switched to number one, with new signings Alex Young (2) and Alex Clegg (5) taking the wing shirts having followed coach Thorman from Workington.

Hooker Curtis Davies, Rhys Clarke and Jake Lightowler have also made the move from Cumbria, as has Australian half-back Nikau Williams, who arrives from Whitehaven.

Greece international Robert Tuliatu has arrived from London Broncos and will wear number 17.

The three university signings in Evan Lawther, Max Flanagan and Mac Walsh all wear 21, 25, and 26 respectively, with Hull KR loanees Connor Moore and Daniel Okoro completing the squad wearing 23 and 24.

Out the door

Thunder have said goodbye to no fewer than 13 players since the end of last season. Director of rugby Denis Betts also departed, while former head coach Eamon O’Carroll left before the end of the season to re-unite with Catalans.

Last season’s half-back pairing Josh Woods and Jake Shorrocks have joined Batley and Toulouse respectively, while Ukuma Ta’ai and Jesse Dee have both joined York.

Ireland international back-rower Ollie Roberts has moved to Sheffield and Ellis Robson has joined newly promoted Keighley.

Full-back Craig Mullen decided to hang up his boots at the age of just 24.

Newcastle finished 12th in the table last season, some 21 points off the play-off places, winning seven of their 27 games.

READ NEXT: Championship ins and outs 2023: Signings and departures club-by-club

Newcastle Thunder 2023 squad numbers

1. Jack Johnson
2. Alex Young
3. Marcus Walker
5. Alex Clegg
6. Alex Donaghy
7. Nikau Williams
8. Jay Chapelhow
9. Curtis Davies
10. Mitch Clark
11. Alex Foster
12. Brad Gallagher
13. Connor Bailey
15. Ted Chapelhow
16. Rhys Clarke
17. Robert Tuliatu
18. Jake Lightowler
19. Nathan Clemmitt
20. Gideon Boafo
21. Evan Lawther
22. Jake Anderson
23. Connor Moore
24. Daniel Okoro
25. Max Flanagan
26. Mac Walsh