David Mead to lead Papua New Guinea against Australian Prime Minister’s XIII

Drew Darbyshire

Catalans star David Mead has been named in Papua New Guinea’s squad to face the Australian Prime Minister’s XIII this autumn.

The Kumuls face the Australian Prime Minister’s XIII in Port Moresby on October 6.

St George Illawarra Dragons star Nene MacDonald, Cronulla Sharks hooker James Segeyaro and Canterbury Bulldogs back-rower Rhyse Martin have also been named in the strong squad.

Other NRL players included are Melbourne Storm winger Justin Olam, Sydney Roosters half-back Lachlan Lam and North Queensland Cowboys playmaker Kyle Laybutt.

Alongside Mead, Widnes Vikings’ Wellington Albert is the only other Super League player to be named in the squad.

Papua New Guinea squad to face Australian Prime Minister’s XIII:

Daniel Russell (South Logan Magpies)

David Mead (Catalans Dragons)

Edene Gabi (PNG Hunters)

Enock Maki (PNG Hunters)

James Segeyaro (Cronulla Sharks)

Justin Olam (Melbourne Storm)

Kyle Laybutt (North Queensland Cowboys)

Lachlan Lam (Sydney Roosters)

Moses Meninga (PNG Hunters)

Nene MacDonald (St George Illawarra Dragons)

Nixon Putt (PNG Hunters)

Rhadley Brawa (PNG Hunters)

Rhyse Martin (Canterbury Bulldogs)

Stanton Albert (PNG Hunters)

Tom Butterfield (Easts Tigers)

Watson Boas (PNG Hunters)

Wellington Albert (Widnes Vikings)

Willie Minoga (PNG Hunters)