Castleford Tigers 2023 squad numbers: Gareth Widdop to wear No. 6 shirt

Drew Darbyshire
Gareth Widdop Castleford Tigers Lee Radford SWpix

Photo: Allan McKenzie/SWpix

Castleford Tigers have confirmed their squad numbers for the 2023 Super League season, with new recruit Gareth Widdop wearing the number six shirt.

The former Great Britain and England international has linked up with the Tigers on a two-year deal from Warrington.

In the halves Widdop will partner Jacob Miller, who has been given the number seven shirt by head coach Lee Radford following his move from rivals Wakefield.

Albert Vete and Bailey Dawson, who both joined the club from Hull KR in the off-season, will wear numbers 19 and 27 respectively.

Nigerian prop Muizz Mustapha will wear the number 20 for Castleford following his switch from neighbours Leeds.

Also making the move from Headingley is Jack Broadbent, who takes the number 17 jersey for 2023.

Young half-back Jacob Hookem has been handed the number 30 after arriving from Hull.

Greg Eden has taken the number two jersey from Derrell Olpherts, who has left the Jungle to join Leeds.

Mahe Fonua will wear the number four shirt this season, with Jake Mamo moving to number 21.

Scotland international half-back Callum McLelland takes the number 18 shirt, previously worn by Jacques O’Neill.

Liam Watts will don the 32 jersey this year, the number he wore when he first came back to Castleford in 2018.

Castleford Tigers 2023 squad numbers:

1. Niall Evalds

2. Greg Eden

3. Jordan Turner

4. Mahe Fonua

5. Bureta Faraimo

6. Gareth Widdop

7. Jacob Miller

8. George Lawler

9. Paul McShane

10. George Griffin

11. Kenny Edwards

12. Alex Mellor

13. Joe Westerman

14. Nathan Massey

15. Alex Sutcliffe

16. Adam Milner

17. Jack Broadbent

18. Callum McLelland

19. Albert Vete

20. Muizz Mustapha

21. Jake Mamo

22. Daniel Smith

23. Suaia Matagi

24. Cain Robb

25. Brad Martin

26. Elliot Wallis

27. Bailey Dawson

28. Sam Hall

29. Kieran Hudson

30. Jacob Hookem

31. Jason Qareqare

32. Liam Watts

33. Aaron Willis

34. George Hill

35. Ilikaya Mafi

36. Hugo Nikhata

37. Danny Richardson

Cheyse Blair, who spent the last four seasons with Castleford, has this week announced his retirement from the game via social media.

READ NEXT: The latest update on the future of off-contract Ryan Hampshire