2022 Super League Man of Steel shortlist confirmed

James Gordon
Brodie Croft, Jai Field and Jack Welsby are Man of Steel 2022 nominees

St Helens star Jack Welsby is on the three-man shortlist for the Steve Prescott MBE Man of Steel, having also been nominated for Young Player of the Year earlier this week.

Welsby, 21, is joined in the running for the top award by Wigan full-back Jai Field and Salford half-back Brodie Croft.

Voting for the Man of Steel Award is carried out each week of the regular season by a panel of former players who award 3, 2 and 1 point to the three best performers in each match.

Field was in blistering form in the first half of the season, which saw him top the Man of Steel standings when voting went dark after Round 15.

The Australian scored 20 tries and made 24 try assists in Super League, as well as registering the fastest speed this season – 36.1km/h against Hull KR.

Croft, 25, is in his first season in Super League and has helped Salford to a top six finish.

The former Brisbane and Melbourne playmaker featured in all but one of the Red Devils games and has been a pivotal player for Paul Rowley’s side.

His form in the second half of the season in particular has catapulted him in to contention for the biggest individual accolade of the year.

MORE: Three coaches nominated for Super League award

When Salford reached the Grand Final in 2019, the Man of Steel that year was Jackson Hastings, who went on to join Wigan before returning to the NRL with Wests Tigers.

Ben Barba won it for St Helens as they eventually fell short in the play-offs in 2018 after dominating during the regular season.

It’s 10 years since a Wigan player last won the award, with Sam Tomkins crowned Man of Steel in 2012 before winning it for a second time while at Catalans last season.

The Steve Prescott MBE Man of Steel will be announced as part of the Betfred Super League Awards which will be held at Headingley Stadium on Monday 19 September.

Fans can watch the Awards live on Super League’s YouTube channel from 9.30pm that night.

MORE: Super League Young Player of the Year shortlist announced