York Knights 2023 squad numbers: Ata Hingano to wear No. 6 jersey

Drew Darbyshire
Ata Hingano Tonga York Knights 2023 squad numbers SWpix

Photo: Shane Wenzlick /www.photosport.nz/SWpix.com

York Knights have confirmed their squad numbers for the 2023 Championship season, with Tonga international Ata Hingano wearing the number six shirt.

The 25-year-old half-back linked up with York midway through last season from Leigh, who went on to win promotion to Super League.

Hingano will partner former Hull FC man Liam Harris in the halves, with the pair wearing six and seven respectively.

Matty Marsh, who is closing in on 100 York appearances, has retained the number one shirt.

AJ Towse, who was nominated for the Championship Young Player of the Year in 2022, has been promoted from number 23 to five.

New recruit Jesse Dee has received the number four shirt following the Australian’s move from Newcastle Thunder. Off-season recruits Jon Luke Kirby and Conor Fitzsimmons will wear eight and 10 respectively.

Fellow new signings Josh Daley (19), Ukuma Ta’ai (21) and Haryr Price (27) have also learnt their York numbers.

The Knights boast an experienced back-row for the upcoming season, with Chris Clarkson (11), Danny Kirmond (12) and Jordan Thompson (13) completing the pack.

York have seven players among their squad who have played on the international stage. Brendan O’Hagan (14) and Ronan Michael (17) represented Ireland at last year’s World Cup.

Bailey Antrobus (16) of Wales and Scotland’s Jack Teanby (20) were also in action at the recent World Cup.

Hingano and Ukuma Ta’ai have represented Tonga in the past whilst Danny Kirmond’s solitary England cap came back in 2012.

WOLFHOUND: Ireland coach Ged Corcoran is back in clubland with York

York Knights 2023 squad numbers:

1. Matty Marsh

2. Joe Brown

3. James Glover

4. Jesse Dee

5. AJ Towse

6. Ata Hingano

7. Liam Harris

8. Jon Luke Kirby

9. Will Jubb

10. Conor Fitzsimmons

11. Chris Clarkson

12. Danny Kirmond

13. Jordan Thompson

14. Brendan O’Hagan

15. Myles Harrison

16. Bailey Antrobus

17. Ronan Michael

19. Josh Daley

20. Jack Teanby

21. Ukuma Ta’ai

22. Pauli Pauli

23. Olly Butterworth

24. Ben Barnard

25. Brad Ward

26. Jamie Ellis

27. Harry Price

READ NEXT: Keighley 2023 squad numbers: Luke Gale to wear shirt number 31 at new club