Women’s Super League to welcome two more teams in 2020

The Women’s Super League will have two more teams in the competition next season – Huddersfield and Warrington.

It will be the third consecutive year of expansion since the Women’s Super League was launched by the Rugby Football League in 2017, going from four teams in the inaugural season to ten in 2020.

Huddersfield and Warrington both entered the Women’s Rugby League Championship for the first time in 2019, with the Wolves winning the Grand Final at the Manchester Regional Arena last month.

RFL head of growth, Thomas Brindle, commented: “This is another positive step in the Women’s Super League success story.

“Congratulations are due to Huddersfield and Warrington for the progress they have made in a relatively short period of time to be able to meet the standards required. It’s also testament to all involved in the thriving Championship competition.

“The expansion to seven clubs in 2018 and eight in 2019 has undoubtedly enhanced the stature of the competition and of women’s rugby league, as we’ve seen so excitingly this year with our first title sponsors in Betfred, a number of significant attendance milestones, regular coverage on Our League and Twitch, and live Friday night coverage of the Grand Final on Sky Sports.

“The expansion will provide a few additional challenges around the fixture schedule, but we are working on a solution to that which we hope to announce, along with details of the 2020 Women’s Super League Grand Final, before the end of the year.”

More on site

Three more sign up with North Wales for 2020

Swinton sign Leigh forward

Perry Singleton released by Workington

Wigan sign promising London youngster

Quiz: Can you name the Super League winning coaches since 1996?

Be the first to comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.