Woman of Steel shortlist confirmed

York's Sinead Peach (left) and St Helens' Jodie Cunningham (right)

The 2021 Woman of Steel shortlist has been announced.

St Helens and York each have two contenders to become rugby league’s third Woman of Steel when the award is presented alongside the Steve Prescott Man of Steel on Sky Sports on October 4.

READ: Man of Steel shortlist announced

Saints captain Jodie Cunningham is joined by her team-mate and England captain Emily Rudge on the shortlist.

York duo Rhiannion Marshall and Sinead Peach have been nominated for the award along with Leeds centre Fran Goldthorpe.

The award was introduced in 2018, with Castleford’s Georgia Roche the first winner, followed by Leeds captain Courtney Winfield-Hill in 2019.

There was no award in 2020 with the Women’s Super League suspended because of Covid, but it returns in 2021.

About Drew Darbyshire 8177 Articles
Love Rugby League Deputy Editor. Joined the site ahead of the 2017 World Cup and been a full-time reporter since 2018.

Be the first to comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.