Widnes sign Lee Jewitt as quartet depart the Vikings

Drew Darbyshire

Widnes have signed forward Lee Jewitt for the 2021 season but the Vikings have announced that four first-team squad members will leave the club at the end of the 2020 campaign. 

Jay Chapelhow, Ted Chapelhow, Sam Wilde and Pat Moran will depart the Vikings at the end of the 2020 season, having taken up options at another club.

Jewitt joins Widnes from Barrow, where he played two games before the League 1 season was cancelled due to the coronavirus pandemic.

Jewitt said: “It was an easy decision really. I know quite a few of the lads who are already at the club and I know Tim (Sheens, Widnes coach) quite well from playing under him at Hull KR.

“Alongside that you’ve got the heritage and the club as a whole. It’s probably one of the biggest clubs in the sport with its past, so it was an easy decision for me.

“I know some of the ex-Widnes players too and all I have ever heard is good things about the club, so as far as the club goes and the supporters it makes it a pretty easy decision.

“Tim is a great coach to work with. He’s probably one of the best coaches I have had throughout my career. He knows how to look after his boys and get the best out of them at the same time.”

Listen to The Final Hooter podcast, featuring exclusive interviews, every week. SUBSCRIBE to Love Rugby League on Apple Podcasts.