Whitehaven announce 2024 squad numbers: Papua New Guinea star to wear No. 1 following arrival in Cumbria

Drew Darbyshire
Edene Gebbie Papua New Guinea Whitehaven Alamy

Papua New Guinea international Edene Gebbie has joined Whitehaven for 2024 - Alamy

Whitehaven have locked in their squad numbers for 2024, with Papua New Guinea international Edene Gebbie getting the number one jersey following his arrival.

The Kumuls star has linked up with Jonty Gorley’s squad on a one-year deal for the 2024 campaign.

Gebbie, who has won three caps for Papua New Guinea and played in their historic win over Great Britain in 2019, was named in the Kumuls’ World Cup squad in 2022 but was forced to withdraw due to a groin injury.

The utility back has been given the number one shirt at Haven for the upcoming Championship campaign.

Gebbie has joined his fellow countryman Dion Aiye at Whitehaven, with the latter wearing the No. 13 jersey in 2024.

There is an international flavour amongst Gorley’s squad for the forthcoming season, with Italy trio Jake Maizen, Joey Romeo and Ryan King wearing numbers two, three and 11 respectively.

Meanwhile, Wales international Will Evans will don the number four jersey following his return to Whitehaven.

Scotland internationals Callum Phillips and Guy Graham will wear numbers nine and 10 respectively this year.

Nigeria international utility back Rio-Osayomwanbo Corkill, who arrived in the off-season from fellow Cumbrian club Barrow Raiders, has been given shirt number 21.

Meanwhile, Australian trio Lachlan Hanneghan (7), Lucas Castle (8) and Owen McCarron (20) have also been given their jerseys for 2024.

Aussie prop Dalton Desmond-Walker, who has recently signed a two-year deal with Haven, has not yet been allocated a squad number.

The number 16 shirt has been left vacant, with Whitehaven saying there’s ‘potentially further news to come’ regarding the jersey after the squad numbers were revealed at the club’s season launch on Saturday night.

Whitehaven announce 2024 squad numbers

1. Edene Gebbie

2. Jake Maizen

3. Joey Romeo

4. Will Evans

5. Curtis Teare

6. Jamie Doran

7. Lachlan Hanneghan

8. Lucas Castle

9. Callum Phillips

10. Guy Graham

11. Ryan King

12. Connor Holliday

13. Dion Aiye

14. Jake Carter

15. James Newton


17. Ross Ainley

18. Perry Singleton

19. Marcus O’Brien

20. Owen McCarron

21. Rio-Osayomwanbo Corkill

22. Oscar Doran

23. Evan Lawther

Dalton Desmond-Walker (not yet allocated squad number)

READ NEXT: The nine Papua New Guinea players who will play in Super League next season as Kumuls contingent in England grows