Wakefield announce 2022 squad numbers

Drew Darbyshire
Jacob Miller Wakefield Super League

Jacob Miller in action for Wakefield

Wakefield have announced their squad numbers for the 2022 season, with captain Jacob Miller retaining the number six jersey.

Tom Lineham, who has arrived from Warrington, takes the number five shirt from Liam Kay. Ireland international Kay has been given the number 19.

Eddie Battye has taken the number eight shirt from fan favourite David Fifita, who has taken 35, the number he wore when he first arrived at the club in 2016.

TRANSFER TRACKER: Super League ins and outs for 2022: Signings and departures club-by-club

Scotland international Liam Hood, who has joined Wakefield from relegated club Leigh, will wear nine. Kyle Wood, who held the number last season, has gone to Championship side Halifax.

Jay Pitts has taken 13 from Joe Westerman, who has returned to Castleford ahead of 2022.

Wakefield’s latest recruit Jai Whitbread will wear 15. The Australian prop joined Leigh towards the end of last season from NRL side Gold Coast Titans.

NEW RECRUIT: Wakefield confirm signing of Australian forward Jai Whitbread from Leigh

Utility back Lee Gaskell will wear 17 following his off-season arrival from Huddersfield.

Nigeria international Sid Adebiyi, who arrived from London Broncos, will wear the number 23 jersey.

England internationals Tom Johnstone and Reece Lyne have retained their number two and four shirts.

Corey Hall, who has recently returned from Leeds, completes the squad by taking number 30.

10 players have left over the off-season – Josh Wood (Barrow), Kyle Wood (Halifax), Joe Arundel (Halifax), Joe Westerman (Castleford), Chris Green (Leigh), Innes Senior (returned to parent club Huddersfield), Alex Walker (Halifax on trial), Ryan Hampshire (released), Connor Bailey (Newcastle) and Ollie Greensmith (Dewsbury).

Follow Love Rugby League on Instagram

Wakefield 2022 squad numbers:

1 Max Jowitt

2 Tom Johnstone

3 Bill Tupou

4 Reece Lyne

5 Tom Lineham

6 Jacob Miller

7 Mason Lino

8 Eddie Battye

9 Liam Hood

10 Tinirau Arona

11 Matty Ashurst

12 Kelepi Tanginoa

13 Jay Pitts

14 Jordy Crowther

15 Jai Whitbread

16 James Batchelor

17 Lee Gaskell

18 Lee Kershaw

19 Liam Kay

20 Jack Croft

21 Brad Walker

22 Yusuf Aydin

23 Sid Adebiyi

24 Harry Bowes

25 Sam Eseh

26 Pat O’Donovan

27 Lewis Murphy

28 Dane Windrow

29 Isaac Shaw

30 Corey Hall

35 David Fifita

READ MORE: Wakefield Trinity: The Wimbledon of Super League