Numbers 1 and 2 absent in Batley Bulldogs 2023 squad numbers

Drew Darbyshire
Greg Johnson Batley Bulldogs 2023 squad numbers SWpix

Photo: Ed Sykes/SWpix

Batley Bulldogs have confirmed their squad numbers for 2023 Championship campaign, with numbers one and two being unused.

Batley’s squad numbers for this year start at number three in the shape of Scotland international Kieran Buchanan.

Jonny Campbell, who has scored 118 tries in 214 appearances for the Bulldogs, will wear the number five shirt in 2023.

Germany international Ben White will partner former Wigan playmaker Josh Woods in the halves, wearing six and seven respectively.

Keegan Hirst will step out on to a rugby league field in a competitive fixture for the first time in nearly three years when Batley open the Championship season at London Broncos on Sunday. He will don the 10 jersey this year.

Hooker Alistair Leak, who almost has 200 games to his name for the Bulldogs, will wear the number nine.

Other long-serving forwards Dane Manning and James Brown will wear 11 and 13 respectively.

Wales captain Elliot Kear, who has joined the Bulldogs from Bradford, has been given the number 15 shirt by head coach Craig Lingard.

Michael Ward, who was part of Ireland’s World Cup squad last year, will wear number 16.

Joining Batley for 2023 is former Wigan and Warrington forward Samy Kibula, who gets the number 20 jersey.

Batley have signed full-back Aidan McGowan on loan from Super League side Huddersfield. The youngster will don the 21 shirt in 2023.

Jamaica international Greg Johnson has been handed the number 29 shirt at the Bulldogs this year.

BIG PREVIEW: Everything you need to know about the 2023 Championship campaign

Batley Bulldogs 2023 squad numbers:

3. Kieran Buchanan

4. Josh Hodson

5. Jonny Campbell

6. Ben White

7. Josh Woods

8. Adam Gledhill

9. Alistair Leak

10. Keegan Hirst

11. Dane Manning

12. Lucas Walshaw

13. James Brown

14. James Meadows

15. Elliot Kear

16. Michael Ward

17. Luke Blake

18. George Senior

19. Tom Lillycrop

20. Samy Kibula

21. Aidan McGowan

22. Dale Morton

23. Josh Milthorpe

24. Ben Kaye

25. Toby Richardson

26. Nyle Flynn

28. Oliver Burton

29. Greg Johnson

30. Martyn Reilly

READ NEXT: Batley prop Keegan Hirst on playing return and representing gay community