Newcastle Thunder 2022 squad numbers announced

Mitch Clark joined Newcastle Thunder in the off-season
Mitch Clark joined Newcastle Thunder from Wigan in the off-season

Full-time Championship club Newcastle Thunder have confirmed their squad numbers for the new season, with new recruit Mitch Clark wearing the number 10.

There has been an overhaul of players at Thunder over the off-season. In the back line, only Jack Johnson remains in the same number (2) as last season.

New signing Craig Mullen, who spent last season in Super League with Leigh, takes the number one jersey. Australian centre Jesse Dee takes three.

Ex-London Broncos speedster Gideon Boafo takes over the number five which the departed Calum Turner wore in 2021.

Former Wigan half-backs Jake Shorrocks and Josh Woods retain the six and seven shirts respectively. The duo signed new two-year contract extensions over the off-season.

THUNDER: Josh Woods on Newcastle Thunder ambitions, captaincy & expansion

Josh Eaves, who arrived from St Helens, takes the number nine shirt from the retired Bob Beswick.

New signings Alex Foster, Brad Day and Sam Hallas take numbers 11, 12 and 13 respectively.

Connor Bailey moves to number 14 after making his loan move from Wakefield permanent. The Chapelhow twins retain their 2021 numbers, with Ted at 15 and Jay at 16.

Former Tonga international Ukuma Ta’ai will don the number 17 tis year. Ireland international Pat Moran will wear 19.

Thunder’s other new recruits Brad Gallagher and Lewis Peachey will wear 20 and 21.

GROWTH: Why Newcastle can create the blueprint for expansion success

Newcastle Thunder 2022 squad numbers:

1 Craig Mullen

2 Jack Johnson

3 Jesse Dee

5 Gideon Boafo

6 Jake Shorrocks

7 Josh Woods

8 Nathan Wilde

9 Josh Eaves

10 Mitch Clark

11 Alex Foster

12 Brad Day

13 Sam Hallas

14 Connor Bailey

15 Ted Chapelhow

16 Jay Chapelhow

17 Ukuma Ta’ai

19 Pat Moran

20 Brad Gallagher

21 Lewis Peachey

22 Alex Donaghy

23 Isaac Nokes

24 Jake Anderson

25 Nathan Clemmitt

26 Matty Nicholson

27 Josh McDermott

28 Alex Sutton

Eamon O’Carroll’s side start the 2022 Championship season by welcoming Cumbrian club Workington Town to Kingston Park on Sunday, January 30.

PLAY: Our free Fantasy Rugby League competition is back for 2022

About Drew Darbyshire 8625 Articles
Love Rugby League Deputy Editor. Joined the site ahead of the 2017 World Cup and been a full-time reporter since 2018.

1 Comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.