How Keighley Cougars are shaping up for 2023

Keighley Cougars 2023
(L-R) Ben Crooks, Jake Webster and Mark Ioane will play for Keighley in 2023

Keighley Cougars currently have 27 players in their first team for their highly-anticipated return to the Championship in 2023.

The Cougars have made no secret of their ambition to be a Super League club in the near future, and they are certainly building an impressive squad for the Championship next season.

Rhys Lovegrove couldn’t have dreamt for a better 2022 for his side. The Cougars won every single game in League 1 last season as they secured promotion to the Championship.

Keighley scooped three awards at the end of the season as well. League 1 Player of the Year went to talismanic half-back Jack Miller, who finished as the league’s top points scorer. Lovegrove won Coach of the Year after an unbeaten season; and the Cougars were Club of the Year for their efforts on and off the field.

The Cougars have made a number of eye-catching signings ahead of their return to the second tier too, including Sadiq Adebiyi, Ben Crooks, Ellis Robson, Thomas Doyle and Mark Ioane.

Lovegrove’s side have a good blend of youth and experience in their squad for next season, with the likes of Dane Chisholm, Jake Webster, Kyle Trout and Miller steering the ship.

Charlie Graham, Lloyd Roby, Nathan Roebuck, Robbie Storey, Anesu Mudoti and Harvey Spence all have promising futures ahead of them.

Former Samoa and USA international prop Eddy Pettybourne has recently left Cougar Park. He has decided to retire and return to Australia with his family.

The Cougars have a number of international players among their ranks for 2023. Mo Agoro (Jamaica) and Brenden Santi (Italy) featured at the World Cup, whilst hooker Kyle Kesik recently represented Poland.

Sadiq Adebiyi is a current Nigeria international whilst Webster won eight caps for New Zealand between 2005-07.

Keighley Cougars squad for 2023 so far

Backs: Mo Agoro, Dane Chisholm: Ben Crooks, Keenan Dyer-Dixon, Billy Gaylor, Charlie Graham, Jack Miller, Lloyd Roby, Nathan Roebuck, Harvey Spence, Alix Stephenson, Robbie Storey, Jake Webster, Lewis Young.

Forwards: Sadiq Adebiyi, Anesu Mudoti, Thomas Doyle, Toby Everett, Mark Ioane, Kyle Kesik, Aaron Levy, Josh Lynam, Dan Parker, Ellis Robson, Brenden Santi, Kyle Trout, Brad Walker.

It’ll be interesting to see how Keighley get on in the Championship next season.

More Championship content

How Halifax Panthers are shaping up for 2023

Nick Rawsthorne comes out of retirement to make rugby league return

Papua New Guinea international Keven Appo makes Championship move

FOLLOW: Keep up with all the latest on the Love Rugby League mobile app and podcast

About Drew Darbyshire 8513 Articles
Love Rugby League Deputy Editor. Joined the site ahead of the 2017 World Cup and been a full-time reporter since 2018.

Be the first to comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.