How Halifax Panthers are shaping up for 2023

Daniel Williams
Halifax Panthers

Halifax Panthers coach Simon Grix has 23 players registered in his first team squad ahead of the 2023 Championship season.

The Panthers finished third in the league table last term, ultimately losing out to York Knights in the first round of the play-offs.

Hoping to push for a promosing 2023 season, Halifax have made five new signings to help them reach Super League next season.

Grix has bolstered his pack by bringing in forwards Will Maher, Eribe Doro, Ryan King and Ben Forster, as well as hooker Tom Inman.

Maher joins on a two-year deal from Hull KR after three seasons in East Hull where he made 42 appearances, whilst Ben Forster joins from Rochdale until the end of the 2023 Championship season.

Hooker Inman also joins on a two-year deal from York upon the expiry of his one-year contract at the end of the 2022 campaign. With Doro joining from Widnes and King from Whitehaven.

The panthers lost half-back Cory Aston as he returned to Sheffield Eagles, the club where he started his playing career. Forward Titus Gwaze has also joined the Eagles for 2023, whilst Elliot Morris has joined Dewsbury. Matt Garside has also left the club. 

Halifax have also tied down four players to new deals for 2023 – Brandon Moore, Jacob Fairbank, Ben Kavanagh, Louis Jouffret.

The Panthers have five current internationals among their squad. Lachlan Walmsley for Scotland, Ryan King for Italy, James Woodburn-Hall for Jamaica, Joe Keyes for Ireland and Louis Jouffret for France. All of whom competed in this year’s World Cup.

Former Toronto, Hull and Hull KR outside-back Nick Rawsthorne has also returned to the club, having retired from the sport in 2021.

The likes of Kyle Wood and Cole Oakley are yet to be confirmed as re-signings for 2023.

Halifax Panthers squad for 2023 so far

Backs: James Woodburn-Hall, Lachlan Walmsley, Joe Arundel, James Saltonstall, Joe Keyes, Louis Jouffret, Zack McComb, Ben Tibbs, Nick Rawsthorne.

Forwards: Adam Tangata, Brandon Moore, Dan Murray, Ben Kavanagh, Jacob Fairbank, William Calcott, Matty Gee, Brad Knowles, Kevin Larroyer, Eribe Doro, Will Maher, Ben Forster, Tom Inman, Ryan King.

More Championship content

How Widnes Vikings are shaping up for 2023

How Sheffield Eagles are shaping up for 2023

Jy Hitchcox calls time on career, aged 33