Have your say: Was Dan Sarginon’s effort a try or no try?

Photo courtesy of Richard Long

There has been a lot of debate as to whether Dan Sarginson’s effort against Warrington should have been given, and we want to know what you think…

Dan Sarginson went over in the 14th minute of Wigan’s 26-24 defeat to Warrington in the Challenge Cup sixth round on Sunday.

Sarginson crossed following a monster hit from Tommy Leuluai on Blake Austin, but it was later ruled out by video referee Robert Hicks for what he deemed as a double knock on.

Wigan coach Adrian Lam thought it should have been given, he said: “I was sitting in the grandstand and even on the computer, I couldn’t see what they ruled.

“They looked at it ten times and the referee awarded a try on the field so they must have seen Tommy’s arm touch the ball, so I’m guessing that is what they have seen and that’s what they have ruled.

“They looked at it ten times and the referee awarded a try on the field so they must have seen Tommy’s arm touch the ball, so I’m guessing that is what they have seen and that’s what they have ruled on.”

Warriors executive director Kris Radlinski told Wigan Today: “That clip should be beamed around the world showing how exciting our sport is. What a tackle. Warrington fans were clapping it.

“We are trying to get a new TV deal and entertain the world yet our officials are looking for reasons to give tries.

“Something has to change. In a week when sporting drama has been on the front pages, we manage to get it completely wrong again and score a massive own goal.”

But ex-Wigan coach Shaun Wane reckons fans shouldn’t be harsh on Hicks’ call.

He told BBC 5 live’s Rugby League podcast: “It’s pretty straight forward, it was the correct decision.

“I’ve seen that many people coming out with comments and they’re into the referees…  In my heart, that was a great shot by Tommy and it was a try, no question.

“But the rules of the game say it’s disallowed. That was the right decision. The referees were correct. That’s how they have to referee it.

“It’s alright the comments from the experts, but rightly or wrongly, those are the rules. You want to see a change, change the rules.”

Warrington coach Steve Price also thought that Hicks’ decision to disallow Sarginson’s effort was the right one.

Let’s settle the debate once and for all… 

Was Sarginson’s effort against Warrington a try or no try? Let us know your thoughts in the comments below.