Wigan coach Adrian Lam believes Dan Sarginson’s ruled out try against Warrington should have stood.
The Warriors were knocked out of the Challenge Cup after losing 26-24 at the Halliwell Jones Stadium on Sunday afternoon.
Centre Sarginson went over in the 14th minute following a monster hit from Tommy Leuluai on Blake Austin, but it was later ruled out by video referee Robert Hicks for what he deemed as a double knock on.
Speaking after the game, Lam said: “I was sitting in the grandstand and even on the computer, I couldn’t see what they ruled.
“They looked at it ten times and the referee awarded a try on the field so they must have seen Tommy’s arm touch the ball, so I’m guessing that is what they have seen and that’s what they have ruled on.
“From what I saw on the laptop beside me, it looked like a try and from talking to Tommy, he told me he didn’t touch it.
“I’m a little bit devastated to be honest. I thought we were the better team but a few crucial decisions went against us, both on our part and in other areas. It’s a disappointed dressing room but I knew they put in enough effort in to win the game.”
Lam admitted he is gutted to be out of the Challenge Cup, but is glad to have influential forward Tony Clubb back from injury.
He added: “We are getting to where we need to be, that’s the exciting part, but I wanted to be involved with the Challenge Cup.
“I love the concept of the Cup, it’s a bit of a fairytale for me but that’s not to be.
“We are a completely different team to the one that we were six weeks ago and in six weeks time, we are going to be a different team again.
“Tony hasn’t played for eight weeks so in regards to the game, I thought he was okay but what he brought to training this week with his voice and leadership was priceless.”