Draws made for first two rounds of 2022 Challenge Cup

Drew Darbyshire
Challenge Cup

The draws for the first and second round of the 2022 Challenge Cup have been made.

The draws were conducted at the Tottenham Hotspur Stadium – the venue for the 2022 final – by Spurs legend Michael Dawson and London Broncos’ Tottenham-born winger Iliess Macani on Tuesday.

Rocdhale Hornets, in the year which they celebrate the centenary of their only Challenge Cup triumph in 1922, have been drawn against League 1 newcomers Midlands Hurricanes.

Hunslet will face Keighley in another all League 1 tie, while West Wales will take on Swinton.

Andy Gregory, the former Great Britain half-back who recently returned to coach Wigan St Patricks, will renew his relationship with the Challenge Cup with a trip to Rochdale Mayfield.

Irish side Galway Tribesmen were drawn at home to Pilkington Recs. However, that game will be played at Pilks. Scottish outfit Edinburgh Eagles will host York Acorn in round one.

The first round will be played on the weekend of January 15-16, with the second round being two weeks later.

Follow Love Rugby League on Instagram

Challenge Cup first round:

West Hull v Upton

Featherstone Lions v Hunslet Club Parkside

Leigh Miners Rangers v Milford

Siddal v Great Britain Police

Lock Lane v Thatto Heath Crusaders

London Chargers v Ellenborough Rangers

Thornhill Trojans v RAF

Jarrow Vikings v Wests Warriors

Galway Tribesmen v Pilkington Recs

Edinburgh Eagles v York Acorn

Rochdale Mayfield v Wigan St Patricks

Bentley v Stanningley

Bridgend Blue Bulls v Royal Navy

Orrell St James v British Navy

COMMUNITY GAME: NCL accepts two new clubs ahead of 2022 season

Second round:

Edinburgh Eagles or York Acorn v Jarrow Vikings or Wests Warriors

Rochdale Hornets v Midlands Hurricanes

Doncaster v Thornhill or RAF

Orrell St James or British Army v Bridgend Blue Bulls or Royal Navy

Oldham v Lock Lane or Thatto Heath Crusaders

Galway Tribesmen or Pilkington Recs v Siddal or Great Britain Police

West Hull or Upton v Rochdale Mayfield or Wigan St Patricks

Featherstone Lions or Hunslet Club Parkside v Bentley or Stanningley

Hunslet v Keighley Cougars

Leigh Miners Rangers or Milford v North Wales Crusaders

West Wales Raiders v Swinton Lions

London Skolars v London Chargers or Ellenborough Rangers

READ MORE: RFL reaches out to fans to discuss 2030 strategy plans