Challenge Cup first round live games confirmed

James Gordon

Two games will be broadcast live by the BBC and the RFL’s OuRLeague app in the first round of the 2020 Challenge Cup.

The all-Yorkshire tie between Skirlaugh and Hunslet Club Parkside will be shown live on BBC iPlayer, BBC Sport online and via Red Button on Saturday January 11 (12.30pm kick-off).

Our League members will be able to watch the following day’s clash between the RAF and Bentley live at 1.30pm from RAF Cranwell in Lincolnshire.

The thriving Doncaster community club hosted the draw for round one and will be hoping to repeat their 2019 victory over forces’ opposition – an 18-16 first round win over the British Army – while their hosts enjoy home advantage as they begin their quest to go further than the second round of the competition for the first time.

22 other first round ties will take place over the weekend of 11-12 January, with the second round scheduled for 25-26 January and the third for 8-9 February when semi-professional League 1 clubs enter the competition.

Championship clubs enter the fray two weeks later in round four, while four Super League clubs – Huddersfield Giants, Hull KR, Wakefield Trinity and Toronto Wolfpack – will enter at round five on the weekend of 14-15 March.

BBC Sport and the Rugby Football League will each live stream one game from each of the first five rounds. Matches shown by BBC will also be available on demand on iPlayer for 30 days.

The remaining Super League clubs enter the competition at round six on the weekend of 4-5 April, which is when matches will begin to be screened on BBC1 and BBC2 over the weekend.

The BBC will televise two quarter-finals on the weekend of 9-10 May, the two semi-finals on either 6 or 7 June and the Wembley Final on Saturday 18 July.

2020 Coral Challenge Cup First Round draw in full:

Rochdale Mayfield v London Chargers

GB Police v Torfaen Tigers

Edinburgh Eagles v Ashton Bears

Leigh Miners Rangers v Stanningley

Underbank Rangers v Lock Lane

West Bank Bears v Royal Navy

Featherstone Lions v West Bowling

British Army v Oulton Raiders

Normanton Knights v Longhorns

Barrow Island v Rhondda Outlaws

Pilkingtons Recs v West Hull

Thornhill Trojans v Thatto Heath Crusaders

York Acorn v Hammersmith Hills Hoists

Siddal v Saddleworth Rangers

Sherwood Wolf Hunt v Wests Warriors

Wigan St Patricks v Dewsbury Moor

Distington v Bedford Tigers

Milford v Wigan St Judes

Upton v Jarrow Vikings

Skirlaugh v Hunslet Club Parkside

RAF v Bentley

Ince Rose Bridge v East Hull.