2022 Super League Dream Team announced

Drew Darbyshire
2022 Super League Dream Team SWpix

Photo: Allan McKenzie/SWpix

The Super League Dream Team for 2022 has been announced, as voted for by the Man of Steel panellists.

This year’s line-up includes six debutants as well as five players who have retained their place from the 2021 Dream Team.

Super League’s top try scorer for 2022, Bevan French, joins his Wigan team-mates Liam Farrell and Jai Field in the Dream Team. The latter takes his place for the first time.

Amongst the other debutants are Salford duo Brodie Croft and Tim Lafai, who have helped the Red Devils reach the play-offs.

James Roby, who recently announced he would play on in 2023, returns to the hooking role for the first time since 2018. This is his seventh appearance in the Dream Team.

Roby is joined in the team by three of his League Leaders’ Shield winning St Helens side including Morgan Knowles at loose forward for a fourth consecutive year.

Man of Steel panellist Barrie McDermott on Dream Team selections

Barrie McDermott, a Man of Steel panellist and 1999 Dream Team member, Barrie McDermott said: “Being on the Man of Steel panel and working for Sky Sports means I’ve had the opportunity to watch these fantastic athletes showing some amazing skills week-in-week-out throughout the season.

“Seeing five players retain their place in the team from 2021 shows the talent and consistency on display in Super League. A special mention must go to Morgan Knowles who is quickly making the loose forward position after a fourth straight pick in the team.

“It’s fantastic to see that Mikolaj Oledzki is developing into a first class forward and challenges his peers every week. He has been an imposing presence for his club all year and a debut appearance is very deserved.

“Alongside the familiar faces it is great to see new talent rewarded with a place in the team and all six debutants this season should all be very proud to join the Dream Team list.”

2022 Super League Dream Team:

1. Jai Field (Wigan)

2. Bevan French (Wigan)

3. Shaun Kenny-Dowall (Hull KR)

4. Tim Lafai (Salford)

5. Ken Sio (Salford)

6. Jack Welsby (St Helens)

7. Brodie Croft (Salford)

8. Alex Walmsley (St Helens)

9. James Roby (St Helens)

10. Mikolaj Oledzki (Leeds)

11. Chris McQueen (Huddersfield)

12. Liam Farrell (Wigan)

13. Morgan Knowles (St Helens)

PODCASTMatty Russell opens up on overcoming gambling and alcohol demons, & how Toulouse has reacted to Super League relegation

FOLLOW: Keep up with all the latest on the Love Rugby League mobile app and podcast