2019 Rugby League World Cup 9s fixtures released

James Gordon

The fixtures have been released for the first ever World Cup 9s, to be held in Sydney in October.

The highlight of the opening day sees Australia take on New Zealand in the women’s and men’s competitions in successive games.

Earlier on, France and Lebanon will kick-off the competition before England Women take on PNG Orchids in the first ever international women’s competition Nines fixture.

England’s men side start with a game against Wales, before taking on Lebanon and France in day two.

The games will all take place at Bankwest Stadium, with tickets now on sale via nrl.com.

NRL Chief Commercial Officer Andrew Abdo said the draw had been carefully considered to ensure both days featured marquee match-ups and double headers.

“This tournament is all about entertainment – fans can see some of the best players involved in more than 12 hours of action-packed rugby league across the two days,” Mr Abdo said.

“Having the traditional rivalries of Australia-New Zealand and Tonga-Samoa among other great clashes will be enthralling viewing during the pool stages.

“The rivalries, the men’s and women’s double headers, the colour of the competing fans, will give us wonderful entertainment over two days.

“There will be three hours of top-class Rugby League on Friday, and nine on Saturday, which make our ticket prices incredibly attractive for the entertainment on offer.”

The 12 participating nations in the men’s competition are divided in to four pools – with the top two from Pool A (Australia, New Zealand, Papua New Guinea, USA) qualifying for the semi-finals, alongside the winners of Pool B (England, France, Lebanon, Wales) and Pool C (Tonga, Samoa, Fiji, Cook Islands).

Friday 18 October

6.20pm – France v Lebanon

6.45pm – England v Papua New Guinea (Women)

7.10pm – England v Wales

7.35pm – Tonga v Cook Islands

8.10pm – Samoa v Fiji

8.35pm – Australia v New Zealand (Women)

9.00pm – Australia v New Zealand

9.25pm – Papua New Guinea v USA

Saturday 19 October

11.30am – New Zealand v Papua New Guinea (Women)

11.55am – France v Wales

12.20pm – England v Lebanon

12.45pm – Samoa v Cook Islands

1.10pm – Tonga v Fiji

1.45pm – New Zealand v Papua New Guinea

2.10pm – Australia v USA

2.35pm – Australia v England (Women)

3.00pm – Lebanon v Wales

3.25pm – England v France

4.00pm – Fiji v Cook Islands

4.25pm – Tonga v Samoa

4.50pm – New Zealand v USA

5.15pm – Australia v Papua New Guinea

5.40pm – Australia v Papua New Guinea (Women)

6.05pm – New Zealand v England (Women)

6.55pm – Men’s Semi-final

7.20pm – Men’s semi-final

7.45pm – Women’s final (Women)

9.00pm – Men’s final