1895 Cup fixtures & results as tournament adopts new format including group stage in 2024

Ben Olawumi
1895 Cup Alamy

21 Championship and League 1 clubs are involved in the 1895 Cup in 2024 as the competition adopts a new format which includes group stages.

There are seven groups of three clubs, pooled geographically, with games played on a round-robin basis.

Where a Championship club plays a League 1 club in the group stages, it’s the team from the third tier who have home advantage.

After each club have played their two group games, the seven group winners will automatically progress onto the quarter-finals of the cup, with the best-performing second-placed team also gaining a place in the last eight.

As you’d expect, from the quarter-finals onwards, the 1895 Cup takes on a knockout format. Oncemore, the final will be played at Wembley on the same day as the Challenge Cup final – June 8.

Four different clubs, all of the Championship, have lifted the trophy since the competition’s inaugural year in 2019 – Sheffield Eagles, Featherstone Rovers, Leigh – then Centurions – and most recently Halifax Panthers.

Fax – in Simon Grix‘s last year in charge – beat Batley Bulldogs in the tournament’s final last August under the arch in the capital.

Group games this year begin over the weekend of January 27 & 28, and here, we’ll keep this article updated with all the fixtures & results.

1895 Cup fixtures & results as tournament adopts new format including group stage in 2024

Group 1

Barrow Raiders, Whitehaven, Workington Town

January 28: Workington Town 8-30 Barrow Raiders

February 4: Whitehaven 12-18 Barrow Raiders

February 18: Workington Town 22-28 Whitehaven

Group Winners: Barrow Raiders

Group 2

Bradford Bulls, Dewsbury Rams, Keighley Cougars

January 28: Keighley Cougars 35-6 Dewsbury Rams

February 4: Dewsbury Rams 4-40 Bradford Bulls

February 18: Keighley Cougars 18-26 Bradford Bulls

Group Winners: Bradford Bulls

Group 3

Newcastle Thunder, Wakefield Trinity, York Knights

January 27: Newcastle Thunder 10-114 York Knights

February 4: York 4-40 Wakefield Trinity

February 18: Newcastle Thunder 0-110 Wakefield Trinity

Group Winners: Wakefield Trinity

Group 4

Halifax Panthers, Oldham, Rochdale Hornets

January 28: Oldham 24-20 Halifax Panthers

February 4: Rochdale Hornets 12-52 Halifax Panthers

February 18: Oldham 38-12 Rochdale Hornets

Group Winners: Oldham

Group 5

Batley Bulldogs, Featherstone Rovers, Hunslet

January 28: Hunslet 12-62 Featherstone Rovers

February 4: Batley Bulldogs 15-14 Featherstone Rovers

February 18: Hunslet 0-36 Batley Bulldogs

Group Winners: Batley Bulldogs

Group 6

North Wales Crusaders, Swinton Lions, Widnes Vikings

January 28: North Wales Crusaders 12-40 Swinton Lions

February 4: Swinton Lions 18-6 Widnes Vikings

February 18: North Wales Crusaders 14-30 Widnes Vikings

Group Winners: Swinton Lions

Group 7

Doncaster, Midlands Hurricanes, Sheffield Eagles

January 28: Midlands Hurricanes 4-40 Doncaster

February 4: Doncaster 18-22 Sheffield Eagles

February 18: Midlands Hurricanes 16-30 Sheffield Eagles

Group Winners: Sheffield Eagles


Six Championship clubs – Sheffield Eagles, Batley Bulldogs, Bradford Bulls, Swinton Lions, Wakefield Trinity and Barrow Raiders progressed into the quarter-finals of the competition as group winners alongside League 1 outfit Oldham.

York were the club to take the eighth spot in the quarter-finals as the best-performing 2nd-placed team.

The four quarter-final ties – as seen below – will take place on March 3.

Sheffield Eagles v Batley Bulldogs

Bradford Bulls v Swinton Lions

York v Oldham

Wakefield Trinity v Barrow Raiders


To aid teams with scheduling and planning, the draw for the semi-finals of the competition was made immediately after the quarter-final edition.

These ties will be played on Sunday, May 12.

Bradford Bulls OR Swinton Lions v Wakefield Trinity OR Barrow Raiders

York OR Oldham v Sheffield Eagles OR Batley Bulldogs


The 1895 Cup final (5:45pm) is part of a Finals Day triple-header at Wembley Stadium on Saturday, June 8, alongside the finals of the Women’s Challenge Cup (11:45am) and Men’s Challenge Cup (3pm).

Bradford Bulls OR Swinton Lions OR Wakefield Trinity OR Barrow Raiders v York OR Oldham OR Sheffield Eagles OR Batley Bulldogs

READ NEXT: 2024 rugby league pre-season friendlies including dates, times & venues – Fixtures & Results