Women’s Super League to split after nine rounds

James Gordon

The expanded Women’s Super League will split after nine rounds in to a top four and a bottom six.

The 10 teams, which includes new additions Huddersfield and Warrington, will play each other once to determine the positions prior to the split – after which, the top four will play each other home and away.

That will culminate in the top two teams qualifying for the Grand Final at Headingley on Sunday October 11, the day after the men’s Super League Grand Final at Old Trafford.

The bottom six teams will play each other once after the split, leading to semi-finals and a final for the Women’s Super League Shield, which will be played as a double-header with the Grand Final at Headingley.

Points from the first half of the season before the split will carry over after the split.

The season gets underway on Sunday March 29, with champions Leeds taking on Bradford, and Warrington’s Super League debut against 2018 champions Wigan.

Thomas Brindle, the RFL’s Head of Growth who is the BWSL General Manager, said: “As the Betfred Women’s Super League grows in size and profile, the announcement of the fixture list becomes a more significant moment in the domestic Rugby League calendar every year.

“In 2020 we welcome two new clubs in Huddersfield Giants and Warrington Wolves, both of whom were approved for promotion because of what they can bring to the competition and the Women’s and Girls’ game as a whole.

“The RFL BWSL management committee have taken the decision to split the competition after nine rounds to increase the intensity of that competition in late summer and early autumn, especially between the top four teams as they battle to reach the Grand Final – a decision which has also been welcomed by the England Performance Unit who believe it will benefit the elite women players in their preparations for the World Cup.”