Whitehaven confirm squad numbers ahead of 2023 Championship season

Drew Darbyshire
Guy Graham Whitehaven 2023 squad numbers RLFC PA

Photo: Will Matthews/PA Archive/PA Images

Whitehaven have released their squad numbers ahead of the 2023 Championship campaign, with Scotland international Guy Graham getting the number 17.

The Stirling-born forward has enjoyed two seasons with Whitehaven, making 35 appearances. He represented Scotland in his first World Cup last autumn.

Haven have confirmed their squad numbers today ahead of their first pre-season friendly. They face Cumbrian rivals Workington in the Ike Southward Memorial Trophy at the LEL Arena.

The Cumbrian club have made eight new signings ahead of the new Championship campaign.

Australian duo Lachlan Lanskey and Lucas Castle will wear the number 12 and 22 shirts following their move from Down Under.

Fijian powerhouse Lasarusa Tabu, who has joined Haven from French club Carcassonne, has been given the number 16.

Jamie Doran has made the switch to his hometown club Whitehaven after eight seasons with Workington. The Wigan academy product will wear the number 14 jersey.

Josh Rourke and Daniel Spencer-Tonks, who spent last season playing for Salford’s reserves, receive numbers 23 and 24 respectively.

Widnes academy product Sam Freeman will don the number one shirt for Whitehaven in 2023. He spent last season playing in League 1 with Rochdale.

Marcus O’Brien, formerly of Workington, has been handed the number 21 shirt.

Callum Phillips, who has represented Scotland on the international stage, retains the number nine.

Former Papua New Guinea international Dion Aiye, a fan favourite at the Recreation Ground, will don the 13 shirt again his year.

Karl Dixon and Alex Bishop will link up in the halves wearing six and seven respectively.

Whitehaven 2023 squad numbers:

1. Sam Freeman

2. Dave Eccleston

3. Chris Taylor

4. Curtis Teare

6. Karl Dixon

7. Alex Bishop

8. Liam McAvoy

9. Callum Phillips

10. Tom Walker

11. Connor Holliday

12. Lachlan Lanskey

13. Dion Aiye

14. Jamie Doran

15. James Newton

16. Lasarusa Tabu

17. Guy Graham

18. Perry Singleton

20. Jake Bradley

21. Marcus O’Brien

22. Lucas Castle

23. Josh Rourke

24. Daniel Spencer-Tonks