Watch: Team mates pay tribute to NRL Dally M winner with Haka

New Zealand Warriors full-back Roger Tuivasa-Sheck won the 2018 Dally M medal for best player in the NRL.

Tuivasa-Sheck, 25, is the first Warriors players to win the award and he was honoured by club-mates Isaac Luke and Jazz Tevaga, and international team-mate Jordan Rapana, who started a cultural haka in celebration of his award.

He told “That was just crazy.

“Where I’m from in New Zealand that’s a special moment for me. I’ve seen it done for a lot of special people.

“It’s such a big occasion back home when something special happens, to acknowledge it. To stand there and receive it is special.

“It’s unbelievable, I’m blown away to be receiving this award

“I’m truly proud of my club at the Warriors, they dug deep and came out to get the boys buzzing again.

“This goes back to them, I’m proud I can take it back to Auckland. To walk away with this, I’m truly grateful.”

The NRL team of the year was also announced at the awards evening on Wednesday night, and it included Tevaga as an interchange.

Team in full: Roger Tuivasa-Sheck (Fullback, New Zealand Warriors), Blake Ferguson (Wing, Sydney Roosters), Joseph Leilua (Centre, Canberra Raiders), Cameron Munster (Stand off, Melbourne Storm), Luke Brooks (Scrum half, Wests Tigers), Andrew Fifita (Prop, Cronulla Sharks), Damien Cook (Hooker, South Sydney Rabbitohs), Josh Jackson (Second row, Canterbury Bulldogs), Jason Taumalolo (Loose forward, North Queensland Cowboys), Jazz Tevaga (Interchange, New Zealand Warriors)

Be the first to comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.