Warrington set to defend 9s title


Warrington Wolves will attempt to defend their Rugby League 9s title as they host the first round of festivals.

The Wolves youngsters achieved glory last season in the inaugural 9s competition, which will again take place again over five Tuesday nights culminating at Headingley Stadium on June 26.

Warrington defeated a strong Cumbrian side in the final, and also faced the side on several occasions in the weekly festivals, which this season are spread across the country.

Warrington’s under 20s coach Richard Marshall said: “Rugby League 9s is a unique idea and a great concept, the players really enjoyed winning the competition last year and it’s something they want to repeat.

“We took it very seriously last year and it paid off. We are hoping to get to the finals at Headingley again and we will use the opportunity to showcase some of our up and coming talent.”

Warrington will be joined by 15 other teams to make a 16 team competition. All 13 UK-based Super League teams will compete alongside Featherstone Rovers, last year’s finalists Cumbria, and rugby league’s newest professional team, University of Gloucester All Golds.

Warrington and London Broncos will host the western division’s first round of festivals, with Hull KR and Featherstone hosting the eastern division’s inaugural festivals.

After the four weekly rounds, the top four teams from each division will play off to decide the second Rugby League 9s winners on June 26.


Round One: Tuesday May 29

Western Division

Warrington Festival – Wilderspool Stadium, Wilderspool Causeway: Warrington Wolves, Cumbria, Salford City Reds, St Helens

London Festival – Aldershot Military Stadium,Aldershot: London Broncos, Widnes Vikings, Wigan Warriors, Uni of Gloucestershire All Golds

Eastern Division

Hull Festival – Craven Park, Hull: Hull KR, Hull FC, Wakefield Trinity Wildcats, Castleford Tigers 

Featherstone Festival – Big Fella’s Stadium, Featherstone: Featherstone Rovers, Bradford Bulls, Huddersfield Giants, Leeds Rhinos

Round Two: Tuesday June 5

Western Division

Cumbria Festival – Derwent Park, Workington: St Helens, Warrington Wolves, Salford City Reds, Cumbria  

Widnes Festival – Halton Stadium, Widnes: Widnes Vikings, London Broncos, Wigan Warriors, Uni of Gloucestershire All Golds

Eastern Division

Leeds Festival – Headingley Stadium, Leeds: Leeds Rhinos, Hull FC, Bradford Bulls, Featherstone Rovers 

Castleford Festival – Probiz Coliseum, Castleford: Castleford Tigers, Wakefield Trinity Wildcats, Hull KR, Huddersfield Giants

Round Three – Tuesday June 12

Western Division

Salford Festival – City of Salford Stadium, Salford: Salford City Reds, Uni of Gloucestershire All Golds, London Broncos, Warrington Wolves

Cumbria Festival – Craven Park, Barrow: Cumbria, Wigan Warriors, Widnes Vikings, St Helens

Eastern Division

Hull Festival – Hull FC Elite Training Centre, Hull: Hull FC, Hull KR, Leeds Rhinos, Bradford Bulls 

Wakefield Festival – Rapid Solicitors Stadium, Wakefield: Huddersfield Giants, Wakefield Trinity Wildcats, Featherstone Rovers, Castleford Tigers

Round Four – Tuesday June 19

Western Division

Wigan Festival – The Co-operative Community Stadium, Wigan: Wigan Warriors, St Helens, Warrington Wolves, Cumbria

Salford Festival – City of Salford Stadium, Salford: Gloucestershire All Golds, Widnes Vikings, Salford City Reds, London Broncos

Eastern Division

Wakefield Festival – Rapid Solicitors Stadium, Wakefield: Wakefield Trinity Wildcats, Leeds Rhinos, Huddersfield Giants, Hull FC

Bradford Festival – Odsal Stadium, Bradford: Bradford Bulls, Castleford Tigers, Hull KR, Featherstone Rovers

2012 Rugby League Finals Night – Tuesday June 26

Headingley Stadium, Leeds.


Be the first to comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.