Warrington and Leeds name squads for Super League opener

Drew Darbyshire

Warrington Wolves and Leeds Rhinos have named their 19-man squads for the opening game of the new Betfred Super League on Thursday night.

The game will take place at Warrington’s Halliwell Jones Stadium on Thursday, 7:45pm kick-off.

Wolves head coach Steve Price could hand new signings Mitch Brown, Bryson Goodwin, Ben Murdoch-Masila and Tyrone Roberts their official debuts while Chris Hill will captain the side.

Warrington forward Sitaleki Akauola will have to wait a little longer to make his impact in Super League though, having been ruled out through injury.

Meanwhile, Richie Myler, Nathaniel Peteru and Brad Dwyer could make their debuts for Brian McDermott’s Rhinos, with Kallum Watkins captaining the side.

All eyes will be on Dwyer, who made the move from Warrington to Leeds in the off-season, and the hooker is expected to have a big year for the Rhinos.

Leeds are without Stevie Ward, Brett Ferres and Keith Galloway through injury.

Wolves 19-man squad:

1 Stefan Ratchford

2 Tom Lineham

3 Bryson Goodwin

4 Ryan Atkins

5 Matty Russell

6 Kevin Brown

7 Tyrone Roberts

8 Chris Hill

9 Daryl Clark

10 Mike Cooper

11 Ben Currie

12 Jack Hughes

13 Ben Murdoch-Masila

15 Declan Patton

17 Joe Philbin

19 George King

21 Mitch Brown

22 Morgan Smith

34 Ben Westwood

Rhinos 19-man squad:

1 Ashton Golding

2 Tom Briscoe

3 Kallum Watkins ©

4 Liam Sutcliffe

5 Ryan Hall

6 Joel Moon

7 Richie Myler

8 Adam Cuthbertson

9 Matt Parcell

10 Brad Singleton

11 Jamie Jones-Buchanan

12 Carl Ablett

14 Brad Dwyer

15 Brett Delaney

16 Anthony Mullally

17 Mitch Garbutt

21 Nathaniel Peteru

23 Jack Ormondroyd

24 Jack Walker

Who are you tipping to win this one? Let us know in the comments below.