Walker named as top Scot for 2016

St Helens prop Adam Walker has been named as Scotland Rugby League’s Player of the Year, the governing body has revealed.

Australian-born full back Lachlan Coote was runner up in the award, with the Scotland management team being amongst those who are polled.

“Adam again proved to be an outstanding performer for Scotland last year,” said Scotland head coach Steve McCormack.

“His performance in the Four Nations was absolutely outstanding and he proved to be one of the best front rowers in the competition.

“We’re looking for Adam to have another good season and build towards the World Cup in Australia in October.”

Walker moved from Hull KR to St Helens just before the Four Nations tournament, and now has 14 caps for Scotland.

He will be handed the Dave Valentine Award before the start of the season.

The other Scotland Rugby League Player of the Year awards for 2016 were:

Roy Kinnear Award won by Scott Plumridge of Edinburgh College and Edinburgh Eagles

Thompson-Tait Award won by George Kinnaird of Huddersfield New College

Wheelchair Player
Graeme Stewart Award won by Michael Mellon of Dundee Dragons

Be the first to comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.