Wales name student squad

Zack Wilson

Wales have named the bulk of their squad for the 2017 Student World Cup, to be held in Australia later this year.

Wales coach Latham Tawhai has named 19 of the final 24-man squad, as these are the players about whom he is certain.

“I’m pleased to name the initial group of players for the World Cup squad with a few places still up for grabs,” he said.

“I must stress, these places are open in all positions.

“All those who are not in this initial group will all be assessed at the next training camp and friendly game.

“Congratulation to those who have made the initial squad.”


Morgan Evans (University of Bath), Harry Boots (Cardiff Metropolitan University), Huw Parks (Cardiff University), Cobi Green, Paul Emanuelli, Archie Snook (all Coleg y Cymoedd), Matt Davies, Liam Rice-Wilson (both University of Gloucestershire), Connor Davies, Curtis Davies, Sion Jones, Marcus Webb (all Leeds Beckett University), Connor Meese, Sam Owen (both Leeds Trinity University), Ieuan Jones (Northumbria University), Lewis Hughes (Neath Port Talbot College), Jarad Hinnem (University of South Wales), Gethin Evans, Louie Ford (both Swansea University).