Training base hosts for 2021 World Cup confirmed

Drew Darbyshire

The Rugby League World Cup has announced which towns and cities will be used as training and team bases in 2021. 

Following the announcement of host stadia for the Rugby League World Cup 2021 (RLWC2021) earlier this year, the tournament has now revealed the 16 locations that will host the qualified nations as training and team base camps.

The opening fixtures of RLWC2021 are exactly 900 days away and the next stage of planning has been finalised, with today’s announcement confirming the local communities that will host the 32 competing nations.

Qualification is still ongoing across the men’s, women’s and wheelchair tournaments and all nations will be confirmed in time for the draw, which takes place on November 27. Following the draw, each of the towns/cities will be allocated to a nation allowing planning to commence for adopt a team initiatives and local community engagement events.

The locations which have been selected as training and team base camps are:

  • Allerdale
  • Bolton
  • Doncaster
  • Hull
  • Leeds
  • Liverpool
  • London
  • Manchester
  • Preston
  • Sheffield
  • St Helens
  • Tees Valley
  • Trafford/Salford
  • Warrington
  • Wigan/Leigh
  • York

Jon Dutton, RLWC2021 Chief Executive, commented: “RLWC2021 will see nations from all over the world travel to England to compete for the sport’s most prestigious prize.

“Today, we are really pleased to be able to announce which towns and cities will be used as hotel and training bases for the competing nations.

“Each chosen location submitted a compelling bid and our decisions represent our confidence in each of these towns and cities to provide a world-class host experience to the visiting nations in 2021.

“These chosen hosts will play such an important role in welcoming all teams and nations, offering them a base and helping them prepare in the best possible environment so they can perform at their peak on the pitch.”