Super League 2018 fixtures released

The Betfred super League fixtures for next season have been released today, with each of the 12 clubs finding out who they will face where and when throughout 2018.

Super League champions travel to the Halliwell Jones Stadium as they face Warrington Wolves in the opening game of the season on Thursday 1 February in a highly-anticipated clash.

Castleford Tigers, who won the 2017 League Leaders’ Shield, start their season off with a trip to the Totally Wicked Stadium as they face St Helens on Friday 2 February and both games will be shown LIVE on Sky Sports, who will be broadcasting close to 100 games throughout the 2018 camapign.

Hull FC will begin their 2018 season at home against Huddersfield Giants while the newly-promoted Hull KR will take on Wakefield Trinity at the KCOM Craven Park.

Wigan Warriors and Hull FC will take round two of the Super League season to Australia for the first ever time, when they will play at the WIN Stadium in Wollongong, Sydney.

Wakefield Trinity and Castleford Tigers will get the Easter weekend underway on March 29. St Helens will host Wigan Warriors and the Hull derby will take place on Good Friday along with Leeds playing Salford Red Devils and Widnes welcoming St Helens on Easter Monday.

On the fixtures, RFL chief commercial officer and Super League executive director Roger Draper said: “2017 was a fantastic season with some of the most exciting action on the pitch I’ve ever seen. Super League also had an incredibly successful year off the field with commercial revenue up by 19% and more than 1.75million tickets sold to Super League fixtures throughout the year, culminating in a brilliant sell-out Betfred super League Grand Final.

“We believe that next season promises to be one of the most exciting ever, with plenty for Rugby League supporters to look forward to. The Dacia Magic Weekend returns to Newcastle for the fourth consecutive year, we have a first ever Super League game in Australia and we welcome back Hull Kingston Rovers to the competition following their promotion from the Championship.”

Sky Sports will continue to broadcast two games a week and following feedback from supporters, media and clubs, there will now be an earlier kick-off time of 7:45pm for all televised Thursday and Friday night matches.

Be the first to comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.