Strong squads named for Hull derby


It is set to be a huge encounter when Hull FC meet Hull KR this weekend for Richard Horne’s Testimonial, with both teams naming strong line-ups.

Hull coach Richard Agar looks set to hand debuts to all four of his new signings with Craig Fitzgibbon, Sean Long, Mark O’Meley and Jordan Turner all set to feature.

Jordan Tansey has the chance to make the full-back slot his own this season, while wingers Mark Calderwood and young Tom Briscoe, fresh from his first taste of international football, will be looking to get an early feel for the try line.

A fully fit Epalahame Lauaki is also included and will have the chance to show us exactly what he is about, after a brief, but fiery, introduction to life with Hull FC towards the end of the 2009 season.

Lauaki’s Tongan Mafia colleagues Willie Manu and Sam Moa are also included, along with Craig Hall who will be looking to impress at centre to stake a claim for the position permanently.

Hall looks set to deputise for Kirk Yeaman who is still a little tight after making a good recovery from an injury picked up against Catalans in France last season, while Shaun Berrigan, who also suffered a season ending injury in that match, misses out after having an injection in his shoulder as he finishes his recovery ahead of the new season.

The only other player to miss out this weekend is Mike Burnett who has a hamstring strain.

Meanwhile, Hull Kingston Rovers coach Justin Morgan has opted to give a large number of players the chance to impress after naming a 26-man squad for the match.

The familiar faces of Paul Cooke and Shaun Briscoe return to the KC Stadium for the match, along with Rovers’ new signing Josh Hodgson who looks set to make his debut against his former club, along with fellow new boys Matt Cook and Mike Ratu.

However, there will be no place for captain Micky Vella and pacey winger Peter Fox who are both out injured.

Hull FC: T Briscoe, Calderwood, Cusack, Dowes, Fitzgibbon, Hall, Horne, Houghton, Lauaki, Long, Lyne, Manu, Moa, O’Meley, Radford, Tansey, Tickle, Turner, Washbrook, Whiting

Hull KR: Briscoe, Welham, Webster, Colbon, Cooke, Dobson, Lovegrove, Murrell, Wheeldon, Newton, Galea, Cook, Ratu, Netherton, Fisher, Mills, I’anson, Hodgson, Watts, Spaven, Taylor, Beaumont, Mariano, Cockayne, S Latus, J Latus