State of Origin 2022: Teams named for Game II

Josh McAllister
State of Origin

Teams have been confirmed for the second game of the 2022 State of Origin series.

New South Wales and Queensland meet again this Sunday, June 26, at Optus Stadium, Perth. The Maroons go into the clash 1-0 up in the series, having claimed a 16-10 victory in Game I.

With the series on the line, Blues head coach Brad Fittler has recalled several familiar faces to his side. Jake Trbojevic returns having played 13 games for the Blues. He has not featured in Fittler’s side since the opening game of the 2021 series.

Angus Crichton is also back in the fold, while Canterbury Bulldogs half-back Matt Burton is set to make his debut in the centres. The 2021 NRL Premiership winner with Penrith replaces Jack Wighton, who has been ruled out due to Covid

Forwards Ryan Matterson, Tariq Sims and Reagan Campbell-Gillard have lost their places in the team. Daniel Tupou will miss out on representing Tonga in their Test against New Zealand as he earns a call-up on the wing by Fittler.

Queensland will be without Xavier Coates and Reuben Cotter due to injuries. Murray Taulagi comes in on the wing for his Origin debut. Rabbitohs forward Jai Arrow has also been recalled to the squad after missing Game III last year for disciplinary reasons.

Brisbane Broncos pair Thomas Flegler and Corey Oates have been added to the wider squad along with Titans forward Beau Fermor. New Zealand Warriors full-back Reece Walsh has also been included in the reserves. 

State of Origin teams

New South Wales: Tedesco, To’o, Burton, S. Crichton, Tupou, Luai, Cleary, Haas, Koroisau, Trbojevic, Murray, Martin, Yeo. 

Bench: Cook, A.Crichton, Paulo, Talakai.

Queensland: Ponga, Cobbo, Holmes, Gagai, Taulagi, Munster, Cherry-Evans, Collins, Hunt, Papalii, Capewell, Kaufusi, Fa’asuamaleaui.

Bench: Grant, Arrow, Carrigan, Nanai.

Brisbane Broncos: Kevin Walters rules out swoop for Cameron Munster