St Helens announce 2022 squad numbers: Jack Welsby to wear 1

Drew Darbyshire
Jack Welsby in action for St Helens

St Helens have announced their squad numbers for the 2022 season, with Jack Welsby taking the number one jersey.

The 20-year-old takes over the number from the recently departed Lachlan Coote, who has joined Hull KR.

Another Saints academy product in Lewis Dodd takes over the number seven shirt to form a hometown half-back pairing with Jonny Lomax.

STARTING 17: How St Helens could line up in 2022

Samoa international Sione Mata’utia takes number 11, with Joe Batchelor wearing 12 after an impressive season in 2021.

New recruits Will Hopoate and Joey Lussick will wear three and 14 respectively. Curtis Sironen takes number 16, with Scotland international James Bell wearing 20.

Tonga international Konrad Hurrell will don the number 23 jersey, previously worn by Ben Barba and Coote.

Young full-back Danny Hill, who arrived from Widnes, will wear the number 29 jersey.

Captain James Roby will wear number nine for his 19th and final season at Saints before he hangs up his boots. Australian hooker Joey Lussick, who has joined from NRL side Parramatta Eels on a three-year deal, has been given the number 14.

Jake Wingfield (19), Josh Simm (21), Ben Davies (22), Dan Norman (24), Matty Foster (25) and Sam Royle (26) all move up in number from the 2021 campaign.

Academy graduates Jon Bennison (27), Lewis Baxter (28), Jumah Samou (30) and Taylor Pemberton (31) round out the squad numbers for Kristian Woolf’s side.

RHINOS: Leeds 2022 squad numbers: Aidan Sezer to wear 7

St Helens squad numbers for 2022: Jack Welsby to wear 1

1 Jack Welsby

2 Tommy Makinson

3 Will Hopoate

4 Mark Percival

5 Regan Grace

6 Jonny Lomax

7 Lewis Dodd

8 Alex Walmsley

9 James Roby

10 Matty Lees

11 Sione Mata’utia

12 Joe Batchelor

13 Morgan Knowles

14 Joey Lussick

15 Louie McCarthy-Scarsbrook

16 Curtis Sironen

17 Agnatius Paasi

18 Kyle Amor

19 Jake Wingfield

20 James Bell

21 Josh Simm

22 Ben Davies

23 Konrad Hurrell

24 Dan Norman

25 Matty Foster

26 Sam Royle

27 Joe Bennison

28 Lewis Baxter

29 Danny Hill

30 Jumah Samou

31 Taylor Pemberton

READ MORE: Warrington 2022 squad numbers: George Williams to wear 7