Scorpions invite fans to trial match


South Wales Scorpions RLFC are inviting fans to watch their final public trial match this Friday at Porthcawl RFC (kick-off 7.30pm).

This will a proper 80 minute 13-a-side rugby league match and will put all of the Scorpions train-on squad through their paces as they aim to get into the final squad for the big kick-off against former Super League club Workington Town at The Gnoll in Neath on Sunday 28 February.

Thirty seven players have currently been in training at the Scorpions and 35 of them have been split into two teams for this exciting trial match. Lee Williams and Christiaan Roets are the two absentees. Williams has a knee injury while Roets is currently on holiday.

Scorpions chairman Phil Davies said: “This game is set to be as exciting and dramatic as any rugby league game that you’ll ever see. It’s a proper match but with an added twist as the players know that a position in the Scorpions professional squad is up for grabs. We’re expecting a large crowd to watch. It’s free of charge to get in so don’t miss out.”

Fans will also have the chance to buy season tickets on the night.

The two teams have been split into “green” and “red”. Following the game, a 27-man squad consisting of 22 first team and five development players, will be selected and announced at on Saturday. The selection will also take the players’ training ethics, current fitness levels and commitment to training into account.

The teams (numbers subject to change) will be as follows…

 GREEN TEAM: 1. Jamie Tibbs, 2. David James (Blackwood), 3. Lewis Reece, 4. Steve Ireland, 5. Ashley Bateman, 6. Andrew Gay, 7. Steve Parry, 8. Joe Burke, 9. Shawn Owens, 10. Neil Dallimore, 11. Barrie Phillips, 12. Loren Quick, 13. Sam Studley. Subs: 14. Harri Greville, 15. Garrick Legge, 16. Jamie Murphy, 17. Stuart Volkes, 18. Phil Cushion. Coach: Dan Clements.

RED TEAM: 1. Marc Bennett, 2. Dalton Grant, 3. David James (Bridgend), 4. Craig Foster, 5. Tom Rees, 6. Matt Hutchings, 7. Jamie Stewart, 8. Adam Coupe, 9. Garyn Lucas, 10. Leigh Taylor, 11. Dean Scully, 12. John Sangier, 13. Adam Pope. Subs: 14. Paul Boden, 15. Stuart Harvey, 16. Tom Payne, 17. Anthony Symmonds. Coach: Hywel Davies.