REPORT: Scotland 4 Tonga 50

Tonga put in an impressive performance as they eased past Scotland 50-4 at Barlow Park in Cairns on Sunday.

Tonga scored seven unanswered tries in the first half thanks to Michael Jennings (3), Jason Taumalolo, Sika Manu, Daniel Tupou and Peni Terepo and they were 38-0 to the good at half-time.

Scotland scored the first try of the second half through Danny Addy but then two tries from Tupou and Ata Hingano saw Tonga secure an impressive 50-4 victoy over the Bravehearts.


Huddersfield Giants ace Danny Brough captained Scotland while new Catalans Dragons signing Lewis Tierney started at full-back. Andrew Bentley, James Bell, Kane Bentley, Will Oakes and Lachlan Stein made their Test debuts for the Bravehearts.

Hull FC forward Sika Manu skippered the Tongan side while Jason Taumalolo and Andrew Fifita both started along with Manu Vatuvei. Recent Warrington Wolves recruit Ben Murdoch-Masila also featured.


Tonga soon got on top of Scotland and Michael Jennings burst through a gap in the Scotland defence to score inside three minutes. Sio Siua Taukieaho added the conversion to put his side 6-0 up.

Jason Taumalolo was a constant menace for the Bravehearts and he scored in the 17th minute when he carried Luke Douglas and Lewis Tierney over the line with him. The conversion was good and Tonga led 12-0.

And they scored again just two minutes later as Jennings grabbed his second. Taukeiaho added the extras and the score was 18-0 to Tonga.

Hull FC star and Tonga captain Sika Manu stormed through the Bravehearts defence midway through the first half to touch down. Taukeiaho’s boot put Tonga 24-0 ahead.

It was all Tonga in the first half and Daniel Tupu used his big frame to stay strong and wrestle his way over in the corner. The conversion was on target, Scotland 0-24 Tonga.

In the 37th minute, Peni Terepo started the carry 20 metres away from the try-line but he went on a surging run to cross the whitewash. Ata Hingano converted to put his side 34-0 in front

Tonga would have finished the half with an average of a point per minute if Ata Hingano but it wasn’t to be after centre Jennings completed a first half hat-trick on the verge of the half-time hooter sounding.

HALF TIME: Scotland 0–38 Tonga.


It was a bit of a slow start to the second-40 for both sides as Tonga didn’t really threaten the Scotland try-line but the Bravehearts did come back out fighting and dug deep.

There was a melee in the opening stages of the second half as Ben Murdoch-Masila put a late hit on Ben Kavanagh and the teams came together but there were no punishments regarding cards.

Scotland earned a try for their efforts though as Danny Addy scooted over the line from a couple of yards out on the hour mark. Danny Brough failed to add the two points.

Tonga only scored their first try of the second half in the 72nd minute.  It was a good one though as Tupou intercepted a pass and ran 80 metres to score his second of the game. Taukeiaho added the conversion to give his side a 44-4 lead.

A couple of minutes later, the Tongans reached a half century of points with five minutes left to play. Ben Murdoch-Masila made a fine break before assisting the supporting Hingano. Taukeiaho converted to seal a convincing 50-4 victory for Tonga.

FULL TIME: Scotland 4–50 Tonga.


 Scotland – 4

Tries: Addy

Goals: Brough 0/1

Tonga – 50

Tries: Jennings 3, Taumalolo, Manu, Tupou 2, Terepo, Hingano

Goals: Taukieaho 6/7, Hingano 1/2

HT: 0-38


Scotland: 1. Lewis Tierney, 2. Matty Russell, 3. Ben Hellewell, 4. Lachlan Stein, 5. Will Oakes, 6. Danny Brough (C), 7. Danny Addy, 8. Luke Douglas, 9. Kane Bentley, 10. Ben Kavanagh, 11. Frankie Mariano, 12. Dale Ferguson, 13. James Bell.

Interchange: 14. Callum Phillips, 15. Andrew Bentley, 16. Sam Brooks, 17. Johnny Walker.

Tonga: 1. Will Hopoate, 2. Daniel Tupou, 3. Michael Jennings, 4. Konrad Hurrell, 5. Manu Vatuvei, 6. Tui Lolohea, 7. Ata Hingano, 8. Andrew Fifita, 9. Siliva Havili, 10. Sio Siua Taukeiaho, 11. Manu Ma’u, 12. Sika Manu, 13. Jason Taumalolo.

Interchange: 14. Sione Katoa, 15. Sam Moa, 16. Peni Terepo, 17. Ben Murdoch-Masila.

Referee – Phil Bentham

Be the first to comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.