Rare penalty awarded in State of Origin Game I clash

Josh McAllister
State of Origin, Adelaide

There was a very rare penalty awarded to New South Wales during the first half of State of Origin Game I at Adelaide Oval.

The Blues were awarded a penalty as Queensland had 14 players on the field with ball possession.

Tom Gilbert picked up a knock and was quickly replaced by Lindsay Collins, only the Sydney Roosters prop forward was too keen to get into action.

It saw Queensland give away a penalty with possession with 14 players on the field at once.

Despite the strong field possession, New South Wales failed to score their first points, with captain and full-back James Tedesco tackled just short of the line.

It has been confirmed that Gilbert, 22, will not play any further part of the game after dislocating his right shoulder. The Dolphins utility forward was featuring in only his second State of Origin match, having made his debut in 2022.

Queensland currently lead 10-0 in the opening game of the series, live on Sky Sports.

Hamiso Tabuai-Fidow opened the scoring on seven minutes into the clash, grounding a grubber kick from half-back and Melbourne Storm star Cameron Munster.

Winger Selwyn Cobbo extended the lead just minutes later thanks to a slick back-line play that involved Munster, Daly Cherry-Evans, Reece Walsh and Valentine Holmes.

State of Origin I: The line-ups


1 Reece Walsh

2 Selwyn Cobbo

3 Valentine Holmes

4 Hamiso Tabuai-Fidow

5 Murray Taulagi

6 Cameron Munster

7 Daly Cherry-Evans

8 Thomas Flegler

9 Ben Hunt

10 Lindsay Collins

11 Tom Gilbert

12 David Fifita

13 Patrick Carrigan

14 Harry Grant

15 Tino Fa’asuamaleaui

16 Reuben Cotter

17 Jai Arrow

18 Tom Dearden

19 Christian Welch

New South Wales

1 James Tedesco

2 Brian To’o

3 Stephen Crichton

4 Tom Trbojevic

5 Josh Addo-Carr

6 Jarome Luai

7 Nathan Cleary

8 Payne Haas

9 Api Koroisau

10 Tevita Pangai Junior

11 Tyson Frizell

12 Hudson Young

13 Isaah Yeo

14 Junior Paulo

15 Cameron Murray

16 Liam Martin

17 Nicho Hynes

18 Matt Burton

19 Stefan Utoikamanu

READ NEXT: Tina Turner not only changed rugby league but British sport altogether