Only 9 Championships teams to run with Under 20s

Only nine of the 23 Championship clubs will run under 20s teams this season.

Leigh, Keighley, Featherstone, Halifax, York, Oldham, Rochdale, South Wales and Hemel will be joined in a Merit Table of ten by Super League side Salford.

It follows the re-structuring of the game below the first team, which has seen the old Under 18s and Under 20s system at Super League abolished in place of a single Under 19s league, while several Championship clubs have forged dual-registration partnerships with top flight teams.

One of the teams to retain their youth presence is Oldham who, despite significant cuts in RFL funding, felt it was important for the club to stick to its principles.

Chairman Chris Hamilton said: “Our commitment to developing our own players has been successful over the years, and we intend to continue on that road.

“Our fans have always backed us on this and we trust they will again get behind our youngsters this season, particularly when they play at Whitebank, starting tomorrow.”

Oldham’ Under 20s team comprises of several players from last year’s Under 18s, plus a dozen or so new recruits, most of them sourced from Super League clubs.

They take on their York equivalents at Whitebank Stadium on Wednesday night (8pm).

Be the first to comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.