Oliver Gildart set for first Dolphins appearance in new position

Josh McAllister
Oliver Gildart Wests Tigers 2022 PA

Oliver Gildart retains his place in the Tigers squad after scoring his first NRL try last week

England international Oliver Gildart has been named to make his first appearance for the Dolphins in their pre-season trial match against North Queensland Cowboys this weekend.

A total of 10 players with previous NRL experience will feature for the Dolphins in Sunday’s match at Barlow Park.

Gildart, 26, joined the club during the off-season on a one-year deal from Wests Tigers. He made eight appearances for the club, before joining Sydney Roosters on loan and going on to make a further two NRL appearances.

Predominantly a centre, he has been named on the wing by head coach Wayne Bennett.

Oliver Gildart among 10 NRL players named

Former Brisbane Broncos outside-back Tesi Niu and Scotland international Euan Aitken have been named to start in the centres.

Samoa international Anthony Milford has been named in the halves alongside 18-year-old Tonga playmaker Isaiya Katoa.

Milford, 28, has made more than 200 appearances in the NRL and featured for Newcastle Knights in 2022.

Jamayne Isaako will play at his favoured position of full-back. Meanwhile, Jarrod Wallace and Herman Ese’ese have been named starting props.

Having made his debut with North Queensland Cowboys in 2020 and going to make 24 appearances from then until 2022, Connelly Lemuelu has been named to start in the back-row against his former club. The 24-year-old joined the Dolphins on a two-year deal.

Former Parramatta Eels lock Ray Stone will return to the field for the first time since suffering a season-ending ACL rupture last March. 

Papua New Guinea international Jeremiah Simbiken has been named at starting back-row. International team-mates Rodrick Tai and Sherwin Tanabi have been named on the extended bench.

Harrison Graham, who scored the club’s first-ever try in their win last weekend over Central Capra, has the chance to impress again. He has been named to start at hooker. 

The game between the Dolphins and the Cowboys will be broadcast live on Sky Sports on Sunday from 7:00am.

Dolphins squad to face Cowboys

1. Jamayne Isaako

2. Jack Bostock

3. Tesi Niu

4. Euan Atken

5. Oliver Gildart

6. Anthony Milford

7. Isaiya Katoa

8. Jarrod Wallace

9. Harrison Graham

10. Herman Ese’ese

11. Jeremiah Simbiken

12. Connelly Lemuelu

13. Ray Stone

14. Brayden McGrady

15. Valynce Te Whare

16. Tyler Szepanowski

17. Lachlan Hubner

18. Judah Rimbu

19. Rodrick Tai

20. Sherwin Tanabi

21. Kurt Donoghoe

22. Brenton Baira

23. Mason Teague

24. Poasa Faamausili

READ NEXT: The best coach to have ever lived: Oliver Gildart gushes over legend

FOLLOW: Keep up with all the latest on the Love Rugby League mobile app and podcast