How Newcastle Thunder are shaping up for 2022

Drew Darbyshire
Newcastle Thunder signings

(L-R) Mitch Clark, Ukuma Ta'ai and Alex Foster are all part of the Newcastle Thunder squad for 2022

Newcastle Thunder have 24 players in their first team for the 2022 Championship campaign.

The north east club have gone full-time ahead of next season as they drive forward their ambition of becoming Super League champions by 2030.

Former Wigan half-back Josh Woods will captain O’Carroll’s men in 2022, with Tonga international Ukuma Ta’ai being the vice-captain.

Thunder have made a number of high-profile signings in the off-season. Prop Mitch Clark has arrived at Kingston Park from Super League giants Wigan.

Prolific winger Gideon Boafo has joined Eamon O’Carroll’s side from London Broncos, whilst Connor Bailey has made the permanent move from Wakefield.

Hooker Josh Eaves has arrived from Super League champions St Helens; and Newcastle have signed hooker or loose forward Sam Hallas from Championship rivals Bradford.

Alex Foster is another impressive coup for Newcastle. The 28-year-old back-rower made more than 50 appearances for Castleford.

Thunder have also gone overseas for their recruitment. Australian centre Jesse Dee has joined the club from Queensland Cup side Mackay Cutters.

Craig Mullen, who was in Super League with Leigh in 2021, is looking to nail down the full-back spot at Thunder next season.

Ireland international Pat Moran has move the move to Kingston Park for 2022. The former Warrington prop has recently been playing in France for Avignon.

Newcastle’s latest signing comes in the shape of Lewis Peachey. The young forward has joined on a season-long loan from Castleford.

THUNDER: Kevin Brown praises Newcastle professionalism

How Newcastle Thunder are shaping up for 2022:

Jake Anderson

Connor Bailey

Gideon Boafo

Jay Chapelhow

Ted Chapelhow

Mitch Clark

Nathan Clemmitt

Alex Donaghy

Brad Day

Jesse Dee

Josh Eaves

Alex Foster

Follow Love Rugby League on Instagram

Brad Gallagher

Sam Hallas

Jack Johnson

Evan Lawther

Pat Moran

Craig Mullen

Isaac Nokes

Lewis Peachey

Jake Shorrocks

Ukuma Ta’ai

Nathan Wilde

Josh Woods (C)

READ MORE: Championship ins and outs for 2022: Signings and retentions club-by-club